Lemon-Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I found this searching for a basic blue berry muffin recipe. I don't like the really sweet muffins either. My experience has been that most homemade muffins aren't too sweet, but the ones in bakeries and restaurants in my area are sweet and dense and huge! I guess I'm an odd duck, because those sweet, dense, huge muffins almost make me sick. I only really like muffins made at home either from scratch or a mix. Homemade muffins, in my experience, are usually light and fluffy. These muffins were what I expected, light and fluffy and not too sweet. I mostly followed the recipe, except I didn't have brown sugar and had to omit the topping. I didn't have lemons and was going to just omit the lemon zest, but my husband suggested using orange zest instead, and this was a good idea. I used the same amount of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These muffins are not sweet enough, even after adding two extra tablespoons of sugar. There is too much liquid so they didn't rise enough and the texture was too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Yummy! I've made these as mini muffins a few times now. I also add 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tbs poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent! I substituted Xylitol for the white sugar in the recipe and they came out great. Might want to add a little extra salt though. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJN
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Thes muffins came out great! I added about 1 1/2 cups of blueberries insteade of a cup. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I just got done making the first batch and these are amazing muffins. i didnt have a lemon though. they still came out great. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt Tirado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I used white whole wheat flour (made for bread machines) instead of AP. Substituted 2 egg equivalent of Better'N Eggs. Omitted the lemon rind and replaced it with the zest of 1 1/2 lemons and the juice of 1/2 a large lemon. Replaced butter in muffin base with 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce and 1 tablespoon of canola oil. Used 2 cups fresh blueberries. Added 1/2 cup AP flour to balance extra liquid. For topping, replaced butter with 2 teaspoons of canola oil. Gently patted topping onto muffins. Baked at 390 for 20 minutes. Excellent texture and unbelievably delicious. Home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These came out great. An easy grab-and-go breakfast. I don't actually own anything to zest citrus, so I used the juice of half a lemon instead. Good berry citrus combo. I followed the other reviews and added a bit more sugar (just mounded the measuring cup instead of leveled), and it was the right amount of sweetness. I also added a few shakes of salt to the topping and it came out great. I might try this with other berries next time too, maybe some raspberries or blackberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious, flavorful muffins. My kids enjoyed these all week for their afternoon snack. I used 1/2 AP flour and 1/2 WW flour. I love the fact that these have oats and minimal fat compared to other blueberry muffin recipes. The lemon/blueberry flavor combination was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I LOVE lemon, so I modified the recipe slightly, but with less than stellar results. I used 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2c all purpose, the whole lemon zest and juice of 1/2 the lemon and 1/2 tsp vanilla. The muffin was moist and tender, but had a tang to it that was a little off. I would make this recipe again, but cut down on the lemon zest and keep it to the 1 tsp the recipe calls for. 2 tsp tops. 5 stars for the texture, 3 for my modified flavor. Definitely worth trying again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States