Lemon Blueberry Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This pie is simple and delicious for anyone who adores fruit pies. The second time I made it, I used extra lemon zest and blueberries and found that it just improved the flavor! One note -- I suggest beating the egg whites to soft or medium rather than stiff peaks -- they'll integrate better into the rest of the mixture and you won't find weird clumps of egg white in the batter but will still get a light consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was a good pie that is great after dinner in the summer. However, be warned that the batter may spill over during cooking - as it did with me - so be sure to place on a baking sheet while baking, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
The cook time in this recipe has been updated from 30 minutes to 50 minutes. Additionally, the baking step now includes directions to cover the pie with foil after approximately 30 minutes in the oven to avoid over browning. Happy cooking -- The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is a sponge pie, not a custard pie. That technicality out of the way, the lemon filling is absolutely delicious. However, I'm not sure the blueberries really added anything, and they weren't especially attractive on top of the pie. It's good, but I think there are better blueberry desserts out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This pie is fantastic. Light and sweet and just the right amount of lemon. Everyone I fed this to absolutely loved it. Be careful about browning the top, and mine didn't need to cook for the whole 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and it did not turn out. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyMomma
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Although this pie didn't have a rich, creamy texture I would expect from a custard, it was still an easy pie to make and a light touch to end any meal. My guests for Super Bowl seemed to enjoy it. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the blueberries to 2 cups. I baked the pie for the 50 minutes recommended, covering the pie after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This pie was terrific! I used a bit more lemon for a more tart edge to it, but otherwise followed the recipe as written, if you want something light and yummy, this is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butters
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is light and refreshing and the zest of the lemon enhances the lemony blueberry flavour, a great combination. I used organic milk and eggs and the eggs whites whipped up beautifully. Mine needed an additonal 5-7 minutes after removing the foil to set up. I like blueberries so I used 2 cups. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
The flavor was good but for me the texture was just too light maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States