Lemon Blueberry Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
First, you can't "cream" 1 tbsp butter w/ 2/3 c sugar! I baked it twice and long as recommended and the top was getting so brown I took it out of the oven. Still not DONE! I threw it away. What a waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
You do have to bake at least 50 mins. After 30 mins I covered with aluminum foil. My husband absolutely loved it and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
The cook time in this recipe has been updated from 30 minutes to 50 minutes. Additionally, the baking step now includes directions to cover the pie with foil after approximately 30 minutes in the oven to avoid over browning. Happy cooking -- The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Easy and delicious. I used a graham cracker crust and it was very good with the filling. I was surprised at how many blueberries there were in proportion to the custard. I will try it with other fruits, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
THIS IS TERRIFIC! I DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS RECIPE AT ALL. COOKED IN ABOUT 35 MINS.DID NOT GET TOO BROWN. EVEN FORGOT TO ADD THE FLOUR UNTIL IT WAS IN THE SHELL.STILL PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
The pie was very good. The more blueberries on the top the better it was. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was a good pie that is great after dinner in the summer. However, be warned that the batter may spill over during cooking - as it did with me - so be sure to place on a baking sheet while baking, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This pie is simple and delicious for anyone who adores fruit pies. The second time I made it, I used extra lemon zest and blueberries and found that it just improved the flavor! One note -- I suggest beating the egg whites to soft or medium rather than stiff peaks -- they'll integrate better into the rest of the mixture and you won't find weird clumps of egg white in the batter but will still get a light consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was very light and very tasty. It was also very easy to make.I love the flavors of lemon and blueberrys combined! I would definately recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
The flavor was quite nice, but in my opinion the texture was too foamy. In my case it didn't resemble custard at all. I would prefer something a bit more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States