Lemon Blueberry Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This pie was terrific! I used a bit more lemon for a more tart edge to it, but otherwise followed the recipe as written, if you want something light and yummy, this is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butters
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is light and refreshing and the zest of the lemon enhances the lemony blueberry flavour, a great combination. I used organic milk and eggs and the eggs whites whipped up beautifully. Mine needed an additonal 5-7 minutes after removing the foil to set up. I like blueberries so I used 2 cups. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
The flavor was good but for me the texture was just too light maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This pie is fantastic. Light and sweet and just the right amount of lemon. Everyone I fed this to absolutely loved it. Be careful about browning the top, and mine didn't need to cook for the whole 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This worked well with soymilk and non-dairy margarine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
The pie was delicious! But you must cook it much longer than recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is a sponge pie, not a custard pie. That technicality out of the way, the lemon filling is absolutely delicious. However, I'm not sure the blueberries really added anything, and they weren't especially attractive on top of the pie. It's good, but I think there are better blueberry desserts out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Although this pie didn't have a rich, creamy texture I would expect from a custard, it was still an easy pie to make and a light touch to end any meal. My guests for Super Bowl seemed to enjoy it. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the blueberries to 2 cups. I baked the pie for the 50 minutes recommended, covering the pie after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
The flavor was quite nice, but in my opinion the texture was too foamy. In my case it didn't resemble custard at all. I would prefer something a bit more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was very light and very tasty. It was also very easy to make.I love the flavors of lemon and blueberrys combined! I would definately recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States