Lemon Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I did change this, but only because I was out of frozen blueberries! I omitted the lemon and replaced it with almond flavoring, in both the batter and glaze. Then I used frozen red raspberries instead of the blueberries, I also used the "Heart-Smart Bisquick"' it was an excellent Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Needs more blueberries, though I only had a little under a cup I added some raisins that were plumped using Limoncello. Needed more lemon flavour, and though I added some ground lavender it was not apparent. The glaze should be changed to a lemon syrup that is poured over the cake after being pricked to let it soak in. You can taste that baking mix was used to make this, but sometimes we all need a shortcut or need to use up a box. I like the idea of the recipe, but it does need some tweaking to be more coffee cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Amazing!! I did make a couple small changes. I used the biscuit mix recipe on this site using butter instead of shortening. I used probably closer to one and a quarter cups of milk because I don't like dry coffee cake. Upped the sugar to 1/2 cup. Also added a tablespoon or two of lemon juice to the batter. It was a wonderful cake!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Good and tasty, but not great. I used frozen blueberries and, as predicted, the cake was blue. Next time I would use fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made with dairy free ingrediants, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
It has more of a shortcake texture than a coffee cake -- moist and dense. I used the "biscuit baking mix" recipe from this site rather than Bisquick -- thanks for the suggestion! My coworkers loved it and gave it a unanimous "thumbs up." However, I felt the cake itself needed more lemon flavor -- as is, the lemon flavor comes from the glaze, and the cake is pretty bland. Next time I will add some lemon juice to the batter -- a tablespoon or so should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried how this would come out. But I really wanted to make a lemon blueberry coffee cake, so I went ahead. I did have to use the low-fat Bisquick because that is what I had on hand, but we actually really enjoyed this cake. That being said, don't skip the glaze. The glaze adds so much lemon flavor to the final cake. I even added some lemon zest into the glaze. But the cake was not dry and crumbly and the blueberries were very nice. Overall, this was quick, easy, and a good breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I just used this recipe with my two young daughters and it was very good and really quick and easy! The cake was moist and fluffy. The flavor was really good. Light and lemony :) I did not notice it tasting like baking mix at all. I would use it again in a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
We had this for breakfast this AM. It was better than I expected. I used "biscuit baking mix" from this site and dried blueberries. Very tender, not dense at all. I did have to bake it a couple extra minutes. I cut out a circle of waxed paper to line the bottom of the pan because I always manage to wreck cakes and such when removing from the pan. I suck at baking, so I need all the help I can get. edited 4/3/2011: I tried this with orange juice/zest and dried cranberries, and added a little marmalade to the glaze. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Made this to the letter and thought it wasn't bad, it was just kind of ok--lacking that lemon flavor that should be there to compliment the blueberries. Like one other reviewer stated, it tasted mostly like baking mix. I made it because I had a sweet craving come on and ingredient searched for baking mix and frozen blueberries, having nothing else really on hand at the moment. Unless that circumstance arises again, I don't see myself making this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States