Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I tried this, but it didn't turn out too well. It tasted great, but most of the blueberries settled to the bottom of the pan and stuck. I didn't know until afterwards about coating the blueberries in flour to prevent this. You may want to add that tip to the recipe for others. I ate it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fayard Sasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The bread wasn't bad, but it didn't bake well. The flavor of the lemon and blueberries was very bold, but it needed a little something else. I would not make this recipe again. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent flavor and texture. I used the zest and juice of a fresh lemon, and used powdered icing sugar instread of white sugar to make the glaze. Very easy, delicious recipe... will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I did enjoy the flavor. I doubled the lemon juice and zest for more flavor. I also used half sugar half splenda. My only issue was I thought these were dense and that is the reason I am not giving it 5stars. My hubby really liked this bread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Buckinfun
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is the best! I just love the light zest of the lemon with the blueberry. I did add a touch of vanilla to the recipe and omitted the walnuts but other than that I followed it to a T. I tried the icing once and found it too sweet taking away from the bread so I don't use it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Even though I "ruined" this bread (my fault), the flavour was fantastic! I left out the walnuts, zested 3 regular sized lemons (I doubt that came to be 2T) and mixed with wet ingredients, and added more lemon juice (almost 1/2C) along with about 3/4t of pure vanilla. Because I didn't have the right sized pan, I baked it in 9x5 loaf pan (too big for this bread), so so the texture of this bread became "doughy" and didn't rise well. But lemon flavour was definitely there and just love the taste. I will definitely make it again and next time I will lessen the milk amount because I don't want to lesson the lemon juice amount. Like one of the top reviewers said, do NOT add too much blueberries (not more than 1 cup)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This held up well frozen and is now being enjoyed weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I followed this recipe with exact measurements and it turned out perfectly. One thing that I have learned through my cooking experience with blueberries is to layer them with the batter in the pan to prevent them from dropping to the bottom of the bread as it cooks. Sometimes coating them with flour doesn't even work for me. I also line my pans with parchment paper to make it easier for me to get the sweet breads out of the pans. VERY GOOD balance of lemon (always use fresh if you can) and blueberries. This one is for the lemon-lovers among us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was very sweet with the addition of the glaze, good but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I was really hoping this would be a great bread after reading all the rave reviews. This did not turn out like a bread for me. More like an overmoist, almost soggy, cake. Not what I am looking for in a bread. I also found it a little too tart, and I love lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States