Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for a co-workers birthday lunch and everyone loved it! I've even cut back on the lemon juice to just 1 1/2 tablespoons, also without the glaze, because my husband is not a fan of lemon flavored dessert, and it tasted just fine. I personally love it with more lemon flavor. I too have trouble with the bread sticking to the bottom of the pan, but read another review that recommended, after the initial 10 minute cool down, to let it chill in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight. So, I will be trying that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalW25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used raspberries instead of blueberries and it turned out so yummy! I think it could've used a little less glaze, and I made sure to drop raspberries on the top of the mixture filled pan so not all the raspberries would sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this recipe with buttermilk instead of milk, used 1 tbsp dried lemon peel in place of fresh lemon zest and changed the glaze to 1/2 cup powdered sugar. I did not thaw the blueberries, but did coat them in flour. I also made it in (4) 6" mini loaves. It was so good that the first four loaves were gone in one afternoon (2 taken home by guests). I made a 2nd batch the following morning to have some for oursleves. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy!!! Didn't even bother with the glaze, delicious and full of flavor! Wasn't shy with the lemon. The blueberries sunk to the bottom half of the loaf but still delicious. Everyone ate 3 big pieces, too good to resist :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Love the lemon-y flavor in this bread. Moist, tasty, and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is the first bread I have made that turned out perfect the first try. I made it with greek yogurt instead of milk, but I do that with all of my sweet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very Moist, very good. I didnt have the lemon, so I added vanilla extract and some cinnamon as well. Fresh blueberrys and fresh pecans (not a walnut eater). This bread was gone in less then an hour. I recommend it to everyone. As soon as I get to the store im gonna try it with real lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WAY too much lemon. I added the 3 tbs lemon juice initially called for, but after tasting the batter and realizing it was too lemony, I cut the zest in half, added a 1/4 cup sugar to the batter (to cut out the bitterness), and skipped the glaze. I liked the final product and will make this again but WITH my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was Amazing!!! My whole family enjoyed it. I really loved the lemons and blueberry's together. I like to make and treat us to this once a month, it's usually gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilrobynbyrd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great bread recipe! I used 4 T. of lemon juice and about 3 T. of lemon zest because I LOVE lemon and I skipped the blueberries and walnuts but I did add 1 t. of ground lavender (done with a mortar and pestle) but this texture of this bread was fantastic! I made a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar and brushed that on right out of the oven and again after ten minutes. I garnished with more lemon zest and dried lavender. I think this basic bread could be flavored to become any number of breads i.e. orange/cranberry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States