Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Good recipe - great lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This bread is one my absolute favorites. I do add the nuts (I think everything should have nuts in it), and follow the recipe exactly as it's listed. The only thing I did this time a little different is sprinkled lemon sprinkles on the top for a little extra added umph, but it's certainly not a deal breaker without it. My kids enjoy it which is a huge plus. I just realized that I make the glaze with powdered sugar and lemon juice rather than regular white sugar. Divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This a good tasting cake. I assume its referred to as a bread because of the amount of batter can perfectly bake in a loaf pan(which I use regularly for banana bread). Already having done my grocery shopping for the week and being stuck inside due to snow storm, I did not prep before making this, so I was pleased with the only (not typical ingredients needed were lemons and blueberries). I used Tru Lemon flavoring, but definitely was not strong enough! I have plenty of fresh blueberries to use, but I think raspberries might go well with the base of this recipe. I also reduced the sugar by half(for my own taste) because we will have this as a breakfast bred and most likely spread butter on it, we won't miss the extra sugar. Took 60 minutes to bake. I would make this recipe again and would be great with any fruit flavored herbal tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Graham
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Lovely lemon flavor, most with a nice crusty on the top. Used frozen berries rinsed and floured, lemon zest in the glaze with the extra icing sugar, could have checked the cook time a but earlier add was done in under the hour. Did not rise as much as i expected. Greased and floured the Ian to prevent sticking and after running the rim with a knife and letting cool for 10 min the loaf came out easily. Overall, a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A little too good to be true. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Loved this!! I have made 2 loaves since finding this recipe. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I liked the taste and the lemon but would add more blueberrys next time. Also I made mini loafs and I probably didn't cook long enough it was gummy inside next time will cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a lovely loaf with a cake like texture, moist with lots of flavor. You could smell the lemon while it baked. I used ground almonds instead of walnuts as my kids do no like the texture of chopped nuts. I have a couple tricks though, that puts this loaf at 5 stars! First, add the lemon juice to the milk and let it sit while you prepare the other ingredients, this will make a buttermilk. Second, add the lemon zest to the sugar first and stir it around with a fork, this will release the lemon oils into the sugar and give it more flavor. Third, toss the blueberries with a little flour to coat before adding to the batter, this way the berries will not sink to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and my family absolutely love it. I didn't change a thing. The blueberries were plump and did not sink to the bottom. Enjoy it as it is so easy to make. This recipe rocks. Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really, really good breakfast bread! I used slightly less sugar (less than a full cup but more than 3/4 cup) I didn't add walnuts and used buttermilk as someone else suggested. I was struggling to get enough lemon zest so I added lemon extract as well. We all really enjoyed this! I also used powdered sugar in the glaze. Other than grating the zest, this recipe took no time at all and smelled wonderful while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States