Lemon Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I've made these cookies over the last two years and the recipe works great for large cutout cookies! The kids love to roll out the dough and decorate them after. These are supposed to be "tea Biscuits", but I love them rolled out thin and cut with cookie cutters big and small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe was difficult to roll out whether refigerated or not. It needs more lemon extract.The cookies were hard as a rock.After making them I checked internet resources to be told NEVER MELT butter; it makes cookies too hard which is true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These are good if you want a real light dessert or snack -- they are not very sweet. I doubled the lemon extract, which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
made these with my children. Nice simple recipe to follow. you must chill dough in fridge if you want to make shapes with cookie cutters as it was a bit sticky. They tasted lovely - nice with a cup of tea !.Children really loved them . They kept quite nicely in an air tight tin for three days. Would make again. My husband enjoyed his with some vanilla ice cream. Oh and make sure you take them out of oven when EDGES are turning golden brown as they cook faster on the bottom and may burn without you realising!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
My daughters really liked these. The only thing they said was that the lemon taste could have been stronger.So next time I'll increase the extract or use fresh lemon juice. I will be making these again. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by kristileab
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These are great! It's really just a lemony sugar cookie but that's just what I wanted. The lemon flavor is very mild so next time I might use a little more extract. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
The best. I used part arrowroot flour and part whole wheat. They were just right. I baked them a little longer. Next time, I will experiment with orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
we all liked these biscuits! i didnt change anything. would make again,i love lemon flavoured things. thanks tracey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Well I used pancake mix instead of all-purpose flour, but I only had two cups left, so I had to shrink the recipe until it only called for 2 cups. The rest of the measurements were so hard to understand (5/8 tbs, etc) that I gave up trying to measure them and just threw stuff in. Too bad the flour already had salt in it, cause after I put the salt in it was almost unbearably salty. To balance this out, I had to add more flour (of a different kind, this time whole wheat) to try to dilute the taste. But then it got too dry, and as I was out of butter I added random amounts of soymilk and grapeseed oil in small increments. I didn't have lemon flavoring either so I poured almond extract in there. Also, I tried to add lemon zest but couldn't find the gratey thing so I used a fork which didn't work. Eventually I had to peel the stuff off with my fingernails, but they were too big so I put them in a garlic squisher thing, which didn't work as they're flat, so I had to tear up each flake of lemon peel by hand which took about an hour. I got impatient with rolling the dough into balls so i just took big hunks of the stuff and put balls of random sizes on the pan with some coconut flakes on top. It came out great and tasted like lemon scones. This recipe didn't work at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were a yummy light snack, very easy to make didn't have any problems with rolling out the dough I just had to make sure I floured the surface and roller. I made them thicker than the recipe called for..still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States