Lemon Berry Slushy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was one of our favorite drinks this summer---however, the first time I made it, I added all of the 1/3 cup of lemon juice, and it was just too tart! I modified it to a 1/4 of a cup and we like it better with that amount. I love the addition of strawberries to the traditional lemonade! Thanks for the post! I also increase the sugar slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I used Truvia sweetener instead of real sugar (from the Truvia website, I was told to use 6 packets to get the sweetness of 1/4 cup of sugar). I did add a little more strawberries than what was called for and I cut back on the ice a bit. Very refreshing. This would make a wonderful base for a homemade strawberry margarita (using lime juice maybe instead of lemon juice?) or a strawberry daiquiri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe for lemon berry slushy--not too tart and not too sweet! I've made this a number of times now exactly following the recipe, and it is a fantastic treat (good for parties, including Superbowl parties, which we plan to make it for). I've also altered the recipe just twice, once adding some lime juice in place of half the lemon juice, and once adding frozen berries (blueberry, raspberry, blackberry) instead of frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I was looking for a quick, easy slushy, and this one fit the bill! I didn't have frozen berries, so I used fresh ones, and I juiced up a fresh lemon and got a little less than 1/3 of a cup. I kept the sugar the same though. Either way, we loved it, and I'll probably make this again - maybe with strawberries and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
UPDATE JUNE 12, 09 Today I give it 5! Slacked off on the sugar a bit and added more lemon and VOILA....I heard a LOUD "MMMMMM" out of my 4.5 year old!! ************* LOL! I did not give it 5 because I TRULY like this stuff more on the tart side and have found the Strawberry Limeade on this site to be VERY difficult to beat. BUT, with that being said, I truly don't see anything wrong with this. It has NUMEROUS possibilities w/ customization! Add more lemon, use less sugar, vice versa and etc! I did the recipe to a T, but mistakingly added a tad more strawberries (Fresh..didn't have frozen) than what it called for. Even just a little more altered the taste and the strawberry really overpowered it. SO..I had to juice another lemon (one lemon did yield JUST short of 1/3 cup as a PP mentioned). I ended up using ALL of that lemon juice, as well. Perfect for us! :) I didn't think it was pucker-y tart..it was perfect the way it was! Lemon isn't SUPPOSED to be SWEET! I eye-balled the ice as we have an ice maker built into the freezer and don't use trays.....but, using too much ice or too little ice could alter your the outcome, as well....and you may have to adjust your ingredient amounts, too! Totally would make this again! My 4.5 year old digs it..and if it makes HER happy, it's gotta be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was a nice drink for a hot summer day. I agree with other reviewers that found it tart, though. Next time I'll cut down on the lemon juice. I also used the berries frozen instead of thawing them, therefore needing less ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I used half lemon and half lime juice. I also used frozen strawberries so left out the ice. Refreshing drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
lemon berry refreshing slushy.This was just lovely i used 1/4 cup of lemon juice didn't have fresh lemons so i opted for the real lemon juice in the bottle.1/4 cup of sugar and i followed the recipe as it says.Adding more ice when i needed to.I loved it my husband loved it any my kids loved it,even my picky oldest son who don't like to try different thing .Thanks this will be a summer favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Perfect summer treat! I followed the recipe exactly and it was a perfect mix and lemon, strawberry and sugary sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Wow this is a great and easy summer vacation concoction! I think I may add some rum for the adults next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States