Lemon Basil Pesto Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Perfect pesto! For anyone worried about or having trouble with pesto falling off or burning on their steaks, I marinated my steaks in about 2T pesto (don't worry, you'll have plenty for topping) loosened with a splash of lemon and olive oil. You can shake the excess off - or not, I didn't - when you're ready to grill. Awesome. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was excellent! The only changes I made was to add an extra clove of garlic to the pesto and cut the lemon juice to 2 tsp because I didn't want it to be too tart. The garlic rubbed on the meat didn't do much good; it burned off while the meat was cooking, but that's a small quibble. My husband and I loved this. I served it with sliced tomatoes and roasted cauliflower. Thanks for the recipe, desi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We made this and were pleasantly surprised! We don't typically like pesto but I have to admit, it was very good AND very quick and easy to make! Since it was still cold out, we made it on the stove and used flank steak instead of the flat iron. Worked great with the flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
The homemade pesto was excellent; a huge hit. But if you've never had flat iron steak, let me warn you, it is a disgusting cut of beef. There were weird dice- sized chunks of gristle scattered throughout. It was revolting. I wouldn't feed a flat iron steak to my worst enemy's dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very nice twist on pesto! Next time I think I will try it with a dash of chili oil instead of the crushed red pepper flakes. I think it might mix in a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am rating this bc I only made the lemon pesto. I was looking for a good pesto..YUM!! I don't like heavy garlic so I only used 2 cloves and it was plenty. Why didn't I think of adding a little lemon juice before?!? It adds brightness to the taste and keeps that wonderful green color..I will always add it now! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Loved it 5 Stars all the way thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I loved this in every way. I don't usually put red pepper flakes in my pesto, but that little bit of heat was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The pesto was fabulous! Great recipe! The steak was a little bland unless you coated it in pesto, wished there was something you could to to it to make it a little more flavorful besides the pesto. Thanks so much! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I cooked these on the George Foreman and just topped the steak with the pesto. It was very good! I didn't actually measure anything except the olive oil and it turned out wonderfuly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States