Lemon Basil Pesto Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was excellent! The only changes I made was to add an extra clove of garlic to the pesto and cut the lemon juice to 2 tsp because I didn't want it to be too tart. The garlic rubbed on the meat didn't do much good; it burned off while the meat was cooking, but that's a small quibble. My husband and I loved this. I served it with sliced tomatoes and roasted cauliflower. Thanks for the recipe, desi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very nice twist on pesto! Next time I think I will try it with a dash of chili oil instead of the crushed red pepper flakes. I think it might mix in a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome! A hit with everyone (I left the sauce off of the kid's steaks.) The lemon and pepper flakes are a great addition to the pesto. I had enough left over that I will serve it with pasta another day. Thank you! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As we thought, most of the outer ingredients fell off on the grill, plus it flamed up a bit. The only flavor that stood out (for us) was the garlic. 4 minutes per side wasn't long enough & our steak was pretty thin. I don't think we'll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Perfect pesto! For anyone worried about or having trouble with pesto falling off or burning on their steaks, I marinated my steaks in about 2T pesto (don't worry, you'll have plenty for topping) loosened with a splash of lemon and olive oil. You can shake the excess off - or not, I didn't - when you're ready to grill. Awesome. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We made this and were pleasantly surprised! We don't typically like pesto but I have to admit, it was very good AND very quick and easy to make! Since it was still cold out, we made it on the stove and used flank steak instead of the flat iron. Worked great with the flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
WOW! Made these for dinner last night and they were great. Used NY Strip (personal preference) and followed another reviewer's suggestion and marinated them in some of the pesto. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Great recipe. I added extra garlic to the pesto and a 1 tsp red pepper instead. Was fantastic. Used New York steaks and let them sit for hours in the fridge in a covered 8x8x2 glass dish with garlic and pesto rubbed on both sides before cooking them. Thanks for the great recipe. Into my recipe box it goes as a top rated keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The pesto sauce is fabulous just like this, and could be put on almost anything. I think I'll try it on cold pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a new family favorite. I did use walnuts because I did not have any pinenuts, and it was great. What a find, flat iron steaks were perfect and tender and cheaper then any other steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States