Lemon Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Delicious and easy - I found this one year while baking Christmas cookies when I needed to use up some egg whites, and they have been a huge hit with everyone who tries them. If you like lemon, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
These are really worthy of 5 stars. I took the 1/2 of the "topping crust" and added the zest of the 3 lemons used for the 1/2 cup of juice and added 1/2 cup of toasted pecans. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These bars are lemony perfection! I did sprinkle the topping ontop of the lemon filling the first time but actually prefer to not put it on. I just dusted the top w/ sifted confectioners sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I loved this recipe! I made it for a coworker that loves lemon, and even though I'm not a lemon fan myself, I will make these again. Even I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Excellent. They were gone the same day. I only had 1/4 cup of lemon juice, so I used 1/4 cup of lime juice also. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
real easy to make- tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Buttery, lemony and wonderful! Served these at father's day brunch and was a big hit. After reading other reviews, I did use 2/3 of the crust-crumb mixture on the bottom and 1/3 on top. That seemed just right. The crumb mixture does still cover the entire top (unlike some other types of crumb toppings that are just a sprinkling on top). Personally, I thought this made them easier to cut and not so gooey to handle. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe! The Lemon filling in the middle is different and it tastes great! I will totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
i used the recipe as listed with 2 tiny exceptions, i used fresh lemon so i grated the zest in (why waste it right?) i used more crust on the bottom and lightly sprinkled crumbs across the top. BEAUTIFUL. this will be our ONLY Lemon Bar Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very Yummy! Following other's advice I made some changes that I think made it better and very lemony! I made 2/3 of the crust recipe and divided that putting most on the botom...I still did not use it all--wanted more filling than crust. I also used a smaller pan so my crust would be thicker. I made the filling as directed but added lemon zest and a tiny drop of lemon extract. If I would have had crushed pecans, I would have added those to the crust. These are my favorite lemon bars! I wonder if I could have added lemon food coloring for more appeal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States