Lemon Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
These are really worthy of 5 stars. I took the 1/2 of the "topping crust" and added the zest of the 3 lemons used for the 1/2 cup of juice and added 1/2 cup of toasted pecans. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was good but we only made half the crust, who wants to cover up good lemon flavor. Also we used whole eggs instead of only egg whites. Who wants lemon bars with no color?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These bars are lemony perfection! I did sprinkle the topping ontop of the lemon filling the first time but actually prefer to not put it on. I just dusted the top w/ sifted confectioners sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
These were good. Of course I changed the recipe slightly. I used 4 limes and 1 lemon, which gave me the 1/2 cup juice needed. Tartness seemed just right. As other reviewers suggested about the topping, I used about 3/4's of it for the base which gave a good sturdy base to cut, and did sprinkle the last 1/4 over the top. They were better the next day. I'm going to try another recipe from Ina Garten. Still seaching for the perfect lemon bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Delicious and easy - I found this one year while baking Christmas cookies when I needed to use up some egg whites, and they have been a huge hit with everyone who tries them. If you like lemon, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Man these are good!! Sprinkle the top crust on lightly, lest you'll smother some of the daringly delicious lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made these twice, because the first batch didn't have enough of a lemon flavour.The second time I used the amount of lemon juice called for and added 2 teaspoons of pure lemon extract.Much more of a lemon ZING....Give it a try !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe was okay, but it had way too much dough. I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract and the lemon flavor was good except the dough got in the way of really enjoying the lemon tatse. Next time I will halve or quarter the dough and bake in an 8x8 pan and adjust the baking time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was not what I expected. Tasted more like shortbread than lemon bars. Not completely bad (anything with 3 sticks of butter can't be completely bad!), just not very lemony. The filling seemed to be absorbed into the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
the texture of these bars is great - i like the crumb topping on top and bottom. but the bar is fairly bland - not nearly enough lemon flavor. i think if i made it again, which i'm not sure i would, i'd add lemon zest to the filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States