Lemon Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe was really easy to make. It didn't have very much flavor though, I added 1/2 cup lemon juice AND lemon zest, and it still was bland. It's still edible, just not what I expected. I'll probably try serving it with some vanilla ice cream or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe was okay, but it had way too much dough. I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract and the lemon flavor was good except the dough got in the way of really enjoying the lemon tatse. Next time I will halve or quarter the dough and bake in an 8x8 pan and adjust the baking time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
They tasted really good, but I didn't use all the dough. I used about half of it for the bottom and just sprinkled a bit of the rest on top. My boyfriend really loved them. He ate almost all of them in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This recipe was bland - even my kids wanted more lemon flavor and less dough. Needs more color to make it pleasing to see on a table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
the texture of these bars is great - i like the crumb topping on top and bottom. but the bar is fairly bland - not nearly enough lemon flavor. i think if i made it again, which i'm not sure i would, i'd add lemon zest to the filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
real easy to make- tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
These were good. Of course I changed the recipe slightly. I used 4 limes and 1 lemon, which gave me the 1/2 cup juice needed. Tartness seemed just right. As other reviewers suggested about the topping, I used about 3/4's of it for the base which gave a good sturdy base to cut, and did sprinkle the last 1/4 over the top. They were better the next day. I'm going to try another recipe from Ina Garten. Still seaching for the perfect lemon bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These bars are lemony perfection! I did sprinkle the topping ontop of the lemon filling the first time but actually prefer to not put it on. I just dusted the top w/ sifted confectioners sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Excellent. They were gone the same day. I only had 1/4 cup of lemon juice, so I used 1/4 cup of lime juice also. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was good but we only made half the crust, who wants to cover up good lemon flavor. Also we used whole eggs instead of only egg whites. Who wants lemon bars with no color?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States