Lemon Barbeque Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I can't imagine using it for ground beef, though; we used ground turkey. I changed the recipe further by adding garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika, smoked sea salt (instead of seasoned) and lemon pepper to meat mixture. I omitted the water. Used chili sauce instead of ketchup, and cut back on sugar to 1/4 cup. Then I placed the sauce right on top of the meat (put a well in the top of the loaves) and baked 400 for 30 minutes - perfect! I would switch the amounts for the spices to 1/4 dash of cloves and 1/4 teaspoon of allspice. Will double sauce next time. Aside from the personal tweaks, really, really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
sauce was a little sweet, but okay. meatloaf was very bland and I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
After the 3rd time making this dish I have decided the cloves are better left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
DELICIOUS!! My husband can not stop raving about this dish. He keeps asking for it again. I used ground chicken instead of beef and crushed saltine crackers instead of bread. I am surprised he still loved it with the changes made. I think the "sauce" was the winner...next time I might make more although the amount for recipe was perfect. I didn't have lemon slices for top but I may try next time to see if it makes a difference. All in all...this is a real KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was pretty good. I think the barbeque sauce could have had a little more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
My husband said this is the best meatloaf he's ever had. Even my picky 9 yr old son loved it! I usually change recipes quite a bit, but not too much on this one. I did add some granulated garlic and lemon pepper to the meat mix. I also added some molasses to the sauce to cut the vinegar taste of the ketchup. I didn't have fresh lemon slices, so I just added some lemon juice to the sauce. I made individual large balls, flattened them, then put a dent in the top of each one to hold the sauce. That way I could scoop out the meat from the pan without getting the fat, but yet save all the sauce. Many people have said they left out the cloves and/or the all spice. DON'T! As weird as it sounds, it adds a special touch and I promise you won't taste it. I used freshly ground all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
pretty bad looking, but tasty. put tons of lemonin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Loved this one. It was easy and quick to make. The only thing I would change is the sauce. The cloves and allspice was just a bit too overpowering for me. I think next time will just use a pinch of all spice and skip the cloves entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Gurine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is the tastiest, and juiciest meatloaf I've ever made! I love it, hands down. Wouldn't change a thing. I made it for the first time a few weeks ago and it was a big hit! Very pretty, with the lemon on top and in the individual loaves. The sauce is to die for, quite different....the only thing I'll do differently next time is to double that sauce, so you can "dip" into it. AWESOME :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLR12473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
We really liked this meatloaf. It was very easy to prepare and makes a nice p resentation with the lemon slices on top. I incorporated some of the other reviewer suggestions: I used 6 oz. of seasoned stuffing instead of the day old bread. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup and upped the onion to 1/2 c. I also doubled the sauce and even then it wasn't overly generous. Next time I will cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 c. It was a bit sweet for my taste. Also, whoever questioned putting the water in... I used the full amount (1/2 c.) and I had NO liquid in the bottom of the dish. So the meatloaf would have been really dry had I omitted it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States