Lemon Asparagus Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Exactly what I had in mind! What a shame the previous reviewer gave it just 3 stars, stating the recipe is tedious because of the constant stirring and the adding of broth: that is the method of risotto! I had no problem with the rice getting soft or sticking either. I used arborio rice as called for and stirred to prevent sticking and the texture was PERFECT. I did not measure the amount of broth I added though, I just added until the rice was done. Perhaps the previous reviewer had their broth at too high of a head and it boiled down, therefor lessening the amount of broth available to cook the rice? One thing to note though: I didn't have a lemon on hand and instead used bottled lemon juice, skipping the zest. I highly recommend you do NOT do this and make sure you have a lemon available. I could taste that fresh lemon juice with zest would have a brighter, cleaner flavor. Lastly, I added salt and white pepper to taste when I added the steamed asparagus because I wanted to taste the rice once all the broth was added - since the broth has salt of its own in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Final result was good with a nice lemon flavor. This recipe is a bit tedious with the constant stirring while adding broth a ladleful at a time. The risotto was not quite soft and began sticking towards the end of cooking. This requires getting a lot of pans dirty for one dish. Taste of finish product good, but the work to get there for a simple side dish was a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyklee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaelc
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Very nice - very simple. Only change - ( For us, your milage may vary ) More garlic, more wine, hold off 1/2 the celery until about the last 4 minutes, so it still has a little crunch and holds it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was a hit in my family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used bottled lemon juice and did not use the lemon zest. As far as being tedious as others have said, risotto IS time consuming but it is worth it!! I might add more parm cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Do yourself a favor - don't change a thing the first time you make this recipe. Follow the instructions exactly, give it the time and attention it deserves, and you will have a winning dish. If you prefer bigger (or less) flavors, try it only AFTER you taste it as it's meant - great recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Didn't change a thing, and it turned out fantastic. My first time making a risotto, and your recipe made it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Fantastic exactly as is, which is a rare rating for me, as i always tweak things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Good, straightforward risotto recipe! I don't think it's necessary to toast the risotto for 5 mins and then wait another 5 for the wine (I did 1-2 mins each), but other than that, I made exactly as-is. Added shrimp. Great thing about this recipe is that you can easily customize to use any other vegetable or meat additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Solid recipe. Agree with another poster that it could use less celery. We added shrimp to it for some protein and it went very well. This is a solid, easy risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Simple, elegant, and classic risotto recipe. Great serving suggestion also as flavors complement fish well. The proportions are right on, but the parmesan cheese made the whole thing a little salty for my taste. I might try substituting some romano next time to tone it down. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States