Lemon Asparagus Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Exactly what I had in mind! What a shame the previous reviewer gave it just 3 stars, stating the recipe is tedious because of the constant stirring and the adding of broth: that is the method of risotto! I had no problem with the rice getting soft or sticking either. I used arborio rice as called for and stirred to prevent sticking and the texture was PERFECT. I did not measure the amount of broth I added though, I just added until the rice was done. Perhaps the previous reviewer had their broth at too high of a head and it boiled down, therefor lessening the amount of broth available to cook the rice? One thing to note though: I didn't have a lemon on hand and instead used bottled lemon juice, skipping the zest. I highly recommend you do NOT do this and make sure you have a lemon available. I could taste that fresh lemon juice with zest would have a brighter, cleaner flavor. Lastly, I added salt and white pepper to taste when I added the steamed asparagus because I wanted to taste the rice once all the broth was added - since the broth has salt of its own in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Given that I love asparagus as well as citrusy things, this is my go-to recipe when I make this type of risotto. I typically omit the celery because I'm not much of a fan of the celery in the risotto, and I typically add more grated parmesan cheese because I like it that way. A bit time-consuming, as most risotto dishes are, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Excellent. We served as a very satisfying side dish but I'd serve as a main course, too. Looking forward to today's leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Fantastic exactly as is, which is a rare rating for me, as i always tweak things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Wonderful, and well worth the effort! I made it exactly as stated and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Didn't change a thing, and it turned out fantastic. My first time making a risotto, and your recipe made it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Do yourself a favor - don't change a thing the first time you make this recipe. Follow the instructions exactly, give it the time and attention it deserves, and you will have a winning dish. If you prefer bigger (or less) flavors, try it only AFTER you taste it as it's meant - great recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Have made this twice - once for a dinner for an Italian group as a side dish (tripled the recipe) and the other as a main course with chicken added in for my daughter and I. Both times a HIT. Simple, flavorful, ... this is going to quickly become part of the general repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used my amazing homemade double strength chicken broth. It was delicious and the recipe is a keeper. I doubt it would taste as flavorful with low sodium chicken stock, but then I am rather picky about chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I just made this recipe as a bed for Chilean sea bass. It was easy to make and exquisite in appearance and taste. My only change was to add fresh English peas shelled directly into the risotto. Btw, you don't have to cook asparagus and peas in this recipe. Just add them raw to the hot risotto a few minutes before serving. The heat of the dish is adequate to cook the veg to perfect crunchy doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States