Lemon and Herb Risotto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I followed it to the letter, with the exception of using vegetable broth rather than chicken to make it vegetarian. Nice lemon taste overall. Made a wonderful light dinner with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I LOVE Risotto so I couldn't wait to try this. DO use Italian Arborio Rice for this and all risotto dishes. I also add the chicken broth (heated) in about 3 amounts as it helps to soak. I followed the recipe exactly and used a springform pan. (Next time I'll try parmesan cheese instead) I made two and the first one I did not cook long enough so when I took it out it was not a beautiful brown color. The second worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Love this recipe! Great for a luncheon. I omitted the chives, and used cilantro instead of parsely. Also, you can change the chicken stock to vegtable stock and make a great vegetarian dish. It never really got crispy and cutable for me until I removed the foil and let it cook ~10 minutes without the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Fantastic!!! Super easy. even for a novice like me! I didn't have any tin foil and cooked it in a glass dish but it set and browned perfectly. I also added some red onion along with the leek. Turned out beautiful! Thankyou for restoring my newlywed husbands faith in my cooking skills! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcastellano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This recipe came out really well and was easy to put together. The only thing I would change next time would be to use kitchen scissors to cut the leek stems crosswise because they were too long and I had to twirl the pieces around my fork like they were spaghetti in order to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful, very aromatic and quite easy to make. This will be a great new addition for my collection - family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe. My family really enjoyed, even the two "rice haters"! When I flipped the pan over, it did stick a little, but I think it was still a little to warm when I did it. The next time I make this, I might add a little lemon juice to the mix to give it a little zip of flavor. If not, serve with the garnished lemon wedges and suggest your guests squeeze a little on their portion. It is almost like chicken lemon rice soup without the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted a green onion for the leek and used a provolone/mozza/parmesan mix as well as freshly grated parmesan and it turned out really well! I will bake it for longer next time, as the middle was not quite set after half an hour. It was also very good (perhaps even better) cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe for this dish for years. I used to buy these cold from an Italian cafe. I adapted the recipe to their version- using a muffin pan to make individual cakes. I also threw in some corn kernels and chopped fresh asparagus and finally, drizzled with balsamic vinegar and served with a side salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I had something like this in a restaurant and this recipe was so close! I used 1/2 parmesan 1/2 mozzarella. I would definitely make this again and my husband asked me for the recipe to make it at the firehall so I know he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States