Leg of Lamb with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I liked this recipe. However, be sure to strain the raspberry sauce through a strainer to remove the seeds that give an annoying crunch and bitter taste. I add 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I doubled this recipe but otherwise made to the exact specifications. My sauce tasted good when I tasted it but refused to thicken very much and I ended up drizzling it over my roast. It ran off the meat and so there wasn't enough to taste properly over the hogget I used. I also had more than a litre of sauce left and as raspberries are expensive I was disappointed. I would not make this recipe again because it is too expensive for the end result but I have frozen the excess sauce and will use it on another roast and see if I can get it to a better consistency. The taste was worth 4 stars but the consistency only two, I'm sure the sauce should have gone thicker than it did but it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was a nice refreshing dish. I really enjoyed it. My husband, however, asked where the pound cake was. He felt it was a bit too sweet for a main course. On the subject of presentation, this would be great for Valentine's Day with it's colorful raspberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamar, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was lucky enough to be given a heap of raspberries from my parent's farm. This recipe was a perfect way to make use of them. The tang of the berries is a perfect match for lamb, which is a favourite of mine. I agree, this is a restaurant quality dish. If only my cooking tasted this good all the time. Lovely with a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sydney, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I am giving this the 5 star rating. I had my family tell me this could have been in a very fine restaurant! Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was excellent. I used fresh raspberries and rosemary and also added a little corn starch to thicken. We used the left over sauce to marinate and serve with lamb steaks which was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clonmel, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE THAT I HAVE EVER USED FOR LAMB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so easy and the results were magnificent. My brother who won't normally eat lamb raved about the flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was very good. I had 2 "lamb lovers" over for dinner this evening and they both loved it. I did mine on the grill wrapped in foil (too hot to start the oven). Marinated all day at room temp (started with frozen leg). I had made some black raspberry wine last year and tossed some of that into the marinade. Very nice. I also thickened the raspberry stuff with cornstarch at the end. By the way my leg had a bone in and I roasted it for 2 1/2 hours. I think it weighed about 5 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Not sure if I did something wrong or not, but this was awful...the sauce ended up tasting like raspberry ketchup...it did not thicken at all...will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I used blackberries! It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Happy Camp, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States