Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls with Cranberry Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Amazing recipe. I am not the best cook and this soooo impressed my family. I do have to say that it took me 3 different stores to find egg roll wraps which ended up in the walmart produce area. So worth it these took time but my family loved it. The sauce was so amazing my family asked me what else can the sauce go with. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
tasty and would make a great appetizer. sauce is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These turned out great. I used less cabbage though, but also diced up some bok choy and celery. I also used low sodium soy sauce to cut back on the salt content and used fresh minced ginger, and a bit of srachi sauce to give it some heat. I did put more than 2 tbsp of mixture in the wrap, as it seemed too little, and I came nowhere near 50 like the recipe said. More like half that. Since I used egg roll wraps (store bought) I ended up frying them in canola oil. Turning them when they became golden (since I don't have a deep fryer), and then placing them on a wire rack and blotted some of the excess oil off. The sauce was good too, although when eating them I used very little, so as not to overpower all of the flavor in the egg roll. Definitely a great way to use up some Thanksgiving leftovers to give a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious! Best use of leftover turkey I've found! I only used dark meat because I was concerned about the white meat drying out. Like many other reviewers, I pan fried them instead of baking. They were outstanding! Worth the small amount of effort it takes to put them together, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Recipe tasted great and using the leftover turkey this way is very clever. There is definitely some miscommunication with the egg roll vs spring roll wrappers. I took from the video that spring rolls can be baked and egg roll wrappers do better fried. I don't know if there are different types of spring roll wrappers but that's what I used. I liked the idea of a light wrapper and no frying. I tried baking them, and they basically melted away. I followed the recipe as written and as others suggested, I tried brushing a bit of oil to help crisp them up. The wrappers were almost like a clear goopy semi dissolved wrap and stuck to the pan. I'm assuming the problem is me. The kids and man child all liked them ...Oh yes, we ate them, but with a spoon... That's right, a spoon. ;) UPDATE: talked with an Asian cooking instructor who was doing demos at our grocery today (Yings kitchen). Spring roll wrappers can be baked (with a bit of oil brushed on) BUT NOT THE RICE SPRING ROLL WRAPPERS! She pointed me to a package of frozen SR wrappers and the first ingredient was wheat. Looked like the wrappers from the AR video...I guess that would have been my first clue... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe for a few years now-it's always a hit. My only variation is to add chopped dried cranberries into the filling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
tasty. Do NOT use rice wrappers in place of the egg roll wrappers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Loved these!! Will definately make again next year after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It's a good idea. The sweet and sour sauce worked well for my wife and I. The rolls themselves were dryer than we would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
my hubby liked these, but didn't care for the sauce. I didn't have Mrs. Dash so i used itailan seasoning instead, and used cole slaw inplace of the shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls

See how to create a delicious twist on Thanksgiving leftovers.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States