Leftover Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I also used only one can of cream of mush soup, subbed chicken instead of turkey and added fresh mushrooms. My hubby loved it and it's a great way to get my 2 year old to eat her beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
A healthier version ... my husband had a quadruple bypass about 2 years ago, so I limit fats, salts ... the yummy things. The proportions I used were: 1.5 cups homemade stuffing (lower in salt) 1 (16 ounce) container no fat sour cream 1 (10.75 ounce) can Campbell’s Healthy Request cream of mushroom soup (low sodium, 98% fat free) 2 lbs. fresh green beans, blanched 4 cups cooked, chopped turkey meat (twice the amount called for) 1 cup homemade gravy (reduced broth with the fat skimmed off, not too thick) I layered half the green beans, turkey, sour cream mixture, stuffing, green beans, driizzeled the gravy over the top. When bubbly, I sprinkled crispy onion rings over the top for the last 5 minutes of cooking. My 15 year old son did not remember the last time I made a casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
FABULOUS!!!! Great way to use up left overs. Rich and hearty, a great way to use up the dark turkey meat. Didn't change a thing except to add a layer of fresh mushroom -- Delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is such a great tasting recipe!The one change I made was,using smoked chicken breast.My husband smoked a hen on the grill.I thought the smokey flavor was so awesome in this dish.Served it with cranberry sauce.The whole family loved it.I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
It was good but not fantastic. I was looking for something that would allow me to use leftovers and it was good for that. I did have to make some changes because of what I had in the house. First, I forgot it was supposed to be layered and ended up mixing the veggies and turkey into the sauce. I only had healthy request cream of mushroom, so I left out the cream of celery and substituted one of the cans of green beans with a can of cream style corn. I used fat free sour cream and used slightly less than 16 oz since that's all I had. I'm not sure I used quite 2 cups of turkey, I just put in what I had left. I only had what stuffing was left from Thanksgiving so I sprinkled that on top, then covered that with the last of our turkey gravy, roughly a 1/2 cup, and sprinkled cheese over the top. It was very soupy, but possibly because I didn't have enough stuffing and I might not have had enough meat. But I had steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots leftover, as well as mashed potatoes. If I had thought of it sooner, they would have gone into the casserole, but since I didn't I just warmed them back up and served the mashed potatoes layered with the other veggies, topped with the casserole, and then I topped that with the last of our cranberry sauce. It was yummy. I did have a lot leftover but used that to make a yummy turkey noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Yummy! A great way to use up the leftovers. I added some leftover mashed potatoes as well and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
4 star rating only b/c I made some changes (based on others' reviews) to the original recipe that resulted in a 5 star rating: omitted cream of celery soup and onion soup mix, only used 8 oz sour cream, and added pinch of thyme. With the changes, it was EXCELLENT with smoked turkery breast! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
We really enjoyed this, but I changed it some. I used a smaller pan, based on the amount of leftovers I had. I layered frozen veggies, turkey, 1/2 soup mix (only used one can of cream of celery mixed with sour cream), 1/2 stuffing, cranberry sauce (sounds gross but really added a NICE flavor to the dish), turkey, soup, stuffing, leftover mashed potatoes, and on top, gravy. WOW was it nice. My husband practically licked his plate! It was plenty moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Thank you Hope!! I used my leftover vegetables instead of french style green beans. I didn't have to make the stuffing as I had it leftover too. A family of 5 came down with a bad bug of some kind. I had too much food prepared but it all was used in your terrific recipe. I used almost 4 cups of turkey. I will look forward to using this recipe again. THANKS ALOT The casserole didn't last long at all. No Waste..I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was just okay. My husband and kids wouldn't even touch it because it didn't look so good. I ate it, but wasn't impressed. I guess what can you expect from leftovers, huh??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States