Leftover Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This recipe was great but with a few mofications. I first read the reviews then changed the recipe as follows. Instead of sour cream I used leftover gravy. I also used leftover gravy to make my dressing. I used one "light" tablespoon of onion soup mix. I added an extra can of green beans to make the casserole thicker,doubled the turkey and doubled the dressing. Last, I sprinkled canned french fried onions on top of the casserole about ten minutes before it finished. It cooked it four almost an hour. My family loved it! Can easily feed six to eight people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
An easy variation to this recipe that really gets rid of leftovers is mix your leftover turkey with the green bean casserole and extra stuffing, pour in about a cup or so of the leftover gravy and mix, spread out in a 9x13 pan and sprinkle with CHEESE (I don't use sour cream)!!!!! bake accordingly !! We actually enjoy the casserole the next day more then the typical turkey day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Based on what I read in the reviews, I tweaked this recipe slightly. I dumped one of the canned soups to obtain a less soupy consistency. I personally don't think it matters which one. I used a reduced fat soup and fat free sour cream. I don't like canned vegetables and didn't have green beans on hand, so I used a package of frozen, mixed vegetables (cooked before placing in the casserole). In the last 5 minutes of baking, I topped the casserole with french fried onion rings and shredded, low fat chedder cheese. My husband and I LOVED it! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I would have given this 5 stars except I made modifications as suggested by others. Use only one can soup, double amount of stuffing, 1/2 sour cream and 2-3T. onion soup mix. I used chopped fresh broccoli- delicious! Superb taste and everyone ate it up at my home. Thanks for sharing! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
We liked this a lot even though we made some changes (due to what we had in the cupboard). We used cream of chicken soup instead of celery soup, onion/mushroom soup mix instead of onion soup mix. We found that it seemed to need more stuffing so we doubled the stuffing recipe. Pretty quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great recipe. I make it every year. I omit the celery soup though. I use just enough water to moisten the stuffing, so that it gets crispy. And sometimes I use milk instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhspringWaterfall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My family really enjoyed this recipe including my 2 and 3 year old. They gobbled up the turkey like it was going out of style. I followed the recipe to a tee and did think this was on the soupy side also. However I served my casserole with mashed potatoes which seem to be the casserole's perfect match for the extra soupiness. The potatoes also help cut back on the saltiness of the dish too. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This recipe was okay. The soup mixture was way more than the green beans and turkey, and it sat on top instead of soaking in, making it taste like a sour creamy onion casserole. I ate it, but I certainly wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Can you say COMFORT FOOD? Awesome recipe! I've used corn and chicken instead of the turkey and green beans and it was great both ways. We make this recipe often...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I make this every year since I found it in 2005~This recipe is great! it tastes like turkey dinner all in one pan. I changed it a bit though, no onion soup mix (too salty for me) and no sour cream (too much choletorol for me)and i added a pinch of thyme. I think thyme makes turkey and stuffing taste great! I left out the canned veggie (can't do canned veggies)but used cooked green beans (frozen) and topped it with the prepared crispy onions in the canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States