Leftover Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I tripled it because I had just baked a whole squash, and I did make a couple changes. first, once my squash was done cooking, I put it in the blender, skin on, with the milk until it was smooth. I'm lazy and didn't feel like mashing it, and it worked perfectly. I also used half whole wheat flour and added extra cinnamon and a couple other spices because my eleven month old refuses to eat anything that doesn't have a ton of flavor. I also HATE cleaning my muffin pan, so i just poured this batter in to every baking dish I had in the house, so I ended up with cakes and bread loaves instead of muffins. It worked out wonderfully. Most squash bread recipes I've made tend to turn out a lot denser than I like, but this one is perfect- more importantly, the baby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
very yummy! Made as directions said, except added about 1 and 1/2 cup of squash - since that's what I had, and left out the nutmeg, which is not a family favorite. Kids LOVED them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great way to use just a little leftover squash! Used butternut squash, substituted Smart Balance spread for the butter and salt, brown sugar for white, added vanilla and fresh ground nutmeg. I made cupcake size so it made a little over 2 dozen. Topped with mini marshmallows because I had just a little of that too. Turned out great! May try a little cinnamon icing drizzle next time! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bronxbombz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I'm working on cleaning out my freezer and using on hand ingredients to trim my food budget this month. This was great for using the frozen butternut squash I had cooked and frozen a month or so ago. I cut this recipe down by half. To make it a little healthier, I used whole wheat white flour, lowfat buttermilk and I upped the squash (for a HALF recipe) to a full cup and only used a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil to help add a little fat but still keep it moist. I did keep the spices the same amount. At the last minute, I did throw in a cup of Hershey's cinnamon chips. These came out really well and noone noticed that I'd cut the fat back by using more squash. It was just......good, and that's all that matters. Next time, I might use pumpkin pie spice but that's a personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I was skeptical that these would be good, but my husband and I both loved them! Next time I'm going to add some chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
used the crunble as another suggested,also added more nutmeg and cinnamon and used another cup of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morenci, Michigan, USA
Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We had a ton of leftover whipped squash from the night before that no one was impressed with, so I figured I try this. First off, I knew no one in my house would go for them right off, so I camouflaged them with blueberries. I had some reservations since a few reviewers complained that they were dense, but these came out surprisingly light & fluffy. My leftover squash already had some butter and sour cream in it, so I reduced the milk to 3/4 cup. I skipped the butter, added a splash of vanilla, 1/4 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup blueberries, & substituted 1 cup of the a.p. flour for wheat. I told my six-year-old that they were just blueberry muffins & he loved them! He ate three for dessert tonight. In fact, I just confiscated a half-eaten wrapper from my one-year-old. Now, I wouldn't go out and buy squash just for the dish, but as the title states, it's perfect for when you've got leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Nice flavor and a good way to get more veggies into a person, but my muffins came out extremely dense... I mean borderline hockey puck dense. Maybe because I substituted the butter with applesauce? In any case, my 3 year old seems to like them once I microwave them for a few seconds and add a little pat of honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These were pretty awesome, especially when all you have in stock is a random can of squash. I would use a little less baking powder next time, but I did add shredded apple and walnuts and substituted 1 cup of flour with whole wheat and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is the perfect way to use up leftover squash. I used butternut squash, and I added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and 1 cup walnuts and the muffins were delicious. Warm and fragrant and lovely on a cold fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States