Leftover Scalloped Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I'm not sure if it was my scalloped potatoes, the ham I used (leftover ham steak), or the broth I used but the soup was quite salty. Other than that, it came out great and is easy to add or subtract ingredients to suit individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Excellent. I've made this with a couple different potato based casseroles and they have all been very tasty. Some stuff I have added: sour cream, soy sauce, cream cheese, artichoke hearts, leeks, onions, milk (never all together). What a great way to renew tired leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
We made this 3/31/2012. It is unbelievably good and we will make this again for sure! We used Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes. We made a couple of changes to the original recipe. We used 3 cups low sodium chicken broth instead of 4 cups and in lieu of that added a cup of light half n half. We had some leftover ham, so that was easy to cut up and add. But we also added 1/2 cup finely chopped celery and 1/2 cup finely chopped onion. We made it just like the recipe said, but we did not add the half and half until AFTER the soup came to a boil (did not want to curdle the milk). We added the half n' half along with the Parmesan Cheese and Shredded Cheddar Cheese. This soup is low-cost, delicious, and you could use either left over scalloped potatoes or do like we did and make the box of scalloped potatoes up fresh and use it right away. The scalloped potatoes in a box were only 98 cents, so it's easy on the pocketbook. We loved this soup so much, while we were eating we said, Let's take some to our neighbors, so we did. They kept thanking us over and over. They had bad colds, and we figured since this soup has chicken broth in it, it might help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very tasty. Super easy to make. I might puree next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I was very pleased to find a way to use up my leftover scalloped potatoes! For a vegetarian soup I used vegetable stock and for added flavour I used a bit of thyme, sage and garlic powder. I added one bunch of broccoli flowerettes for colour. Oh, the "orange" bits in the soup are from the sweet potato I subbed into my original Scalloped Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used my own leftover scalloped potato dish, which already had a large amount of sharp cheddar in it, so I didn't add any more cheese to this soup. I even cooled the soup and skimmed off the fat that had formed at the top, to make it a less fattening, but still a tasty soup. The garlic powder is what makes this a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I had some trouble with this recipe i did substitute the chicken broth with vegetable broth and also instead of ham i added a cup of broccoli. But all of the cheese melted down to the bottom of the soup. In the future I plan on substituting 1 cup of milk or cream for one cup of the broth and holding off on the addidtion of the cheeses until after the soup had been taken off of the heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I love soup and this was a good way to use up leftover scalloped potatoes. Looking the recipe over again before I submitted my review I saw where CANUCKLEHEADMOM suggested using "Really Good Scalloped Potatoes." My suggestion was going to be that the next time I try this soup I was going to add Cheddar Cheese Soup instead of the Cheddar cheese, but after looking up the recipe I see that cheese soup was used in the original recipe of "Really Good Scalloped Potatoes." I think it would make good soup with any scalloped potatoes using a can of Cheddar Cheese Soup, and chicken broth. I would only use garlic powder to taste. As it says, "add, omit, experiment!" Thank you CANUCKLEHEADMOM for the idea of making soup out of leftover scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
THIS SOUP IS REALLY GOOD. IT IS A GOOD WAY TO USE UP THE LEFTOVER POTATOES. IT IS REALLY CREAMY, AND WAS A REAL HIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States