Leftover Roast Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a handy recipe when you have a leftover chicken carcass, but it does need to be livened up. I add chicken boullion, poultry seasoning & whatever else I feel like. But a good basic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I agree with MC_MA_OF 3 that it was very bland. The only way I like to make chicken soup IS with a left over chicken carcass. The roasting gives the soup a much better flavor, however, you really need to add a lot more seasonings, including salt, which I normally don't cook with, but in a soup, you do need some. By the way, "Mom Of Three", I got a charge out of reading a couple of your reviews. Darn, no tomato juice in the house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Unimpressive. I had to add 1/4 cup of Wyler's shakers instant bouillon so that it would have a taste. I also added celery & noodles to make it into "Awesome chicken noodle soup" that is found on this site. It makes a good stock, but then why not just call it leftover roast chicken STOCK. Very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
By the time I got done adding stuff to make this taste good, I had a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I'm giving this a 4 because I really didn't care for it the first night or the green beans in it either. However, this is one of those recipes that gets better as a leftover. I did add a LOT of salt (probably 2 tbsp) to it as I am a salt freak but I still thought it was bland the first night. Hubby and son liked it, surprisingly, as neither are chicken lovers. I heated it up 3 days later and it was really good. The flavors had really come together. Thanks Nikki, I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great use of leftover chicken frames! I used two leftover frames, 8-10 cups water, added 1 tablespoon of salt with the other additions, and subbed peas for beans, since that made more sense to me. Mine's not bland at all, but that could be because I also added 5 jalapenos that were dying a slow, miserable death on my counter. But I'd make this again without the peppers, no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Thanks, was a great starter for my soup. I used some of the left over gravy to add some flavor along with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
good!!! i wud like to remove the vegetables after cooking.that give a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Did need more bouillon and salt. Also added some carrots and celery to the broth before straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States