Leftover Roast Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe!!! I slow cooked a london broil roast to make BBQ sandwiches but found this recipe and gave it a try. I used cans of corn, green beans, and potatoes since I didn't have mixed vegetables on hand. I loved how easy this was because you really didn't have to follow the measurements exactly, you can do it to your taste preferences. And since I had the broth the meat cooked in I didn't need any broth. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This stew was awful. I should have known better than to make something with jarred BBQ sauce as the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I only gave it 4 stars, because if I used the full amount of bbq sauce, I know I wouldn't have liked it. I chopped the roast as it wasn't moist enough to shred. I first put the roast cubes in the crockpot and then squirted in the bbq, stirring, just enough for decent coverage. I also used frozen vegetables instead of canned as I just don't use canned vegetables. This is a good recipe to use up a dry roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good use of leftover roast. I really liked it. I followed the recipe, but I did use frozen corn instead. I'm planning on making it again tonight, but I'm using less BBQ sauce this time, was a bit overpowering last time. But very good overall. Thanks for the recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was great! I DID use the sweet barbeque sauce, but didn't use as much -thus it wasn't too sweet! I used a can of corn & found that this is very tasty, but much better if put over some rice or a piece of toasted bread. -Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara K. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Surprisingly my family liked this stew and wanted to have it again. Looking for a different use of leftover roast. I adjusted it by using a can of corn and can of green beans but I only used about 3/4 cup of hickory bbq sauce. Be sure to include all of the liquid from the veggies. I only had chicken stock so I added beef cubes to it and cooked it on high for the full hour. I took the suggestion of serving over rice and it was awesome and just as good as leftover for lunch as well! I wouldn't have tried something like this on my own. Even my picky son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKC1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gun Barrel City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used all my leftovers up including the vegs that were in the roast itself. So I didn't use canned mixed vegetables. I did take out more than half the bbq sauce and added canned sweet corn to it. It came out great. I will make it again when I have leftovers from a roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Sweet & Sour Version Used only one cup of BBQ sauce, but it was still a bit too sweet. So I added one TBSP of vinegar. Set the slow cooker on low and four hours later the beef was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Perfect for leftovers! Easy recipe to adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I love this recipe, what a great way to use up left overs! I used my leftover carmelized onion roast, scalloped potatoes, canned corn and some fresh celary, spinach and tatsoi from my new farmshare, it's amazing! I used the leftover barbecue sauces I had in the fridge, so there was a little sweetness, but not all if was sweet sauce. I might use less Worcestershire sauce next time, as i forgot it and added that last minute. Over all, a great recipe with flexibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States