Leftover Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really, you can put pretty much anything in this, and it will be good. I put in most of my Tgiving leftovers: turkey, roasted root vegetables, chard, and even leftover stuffing (let's face it, that's where all the flavor REALLY is with the roast turkey). The stuffing not only added a ton of flavor (it was the Creole cornbread stuffing from this site, with andouille sausage), but it created a wonderfully thick, hearty porridge-like filling for the pot pie. I just used a basic pie crust recipe with half butter, half shortening for the flakiness and the buttery flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have been making this same Pot Pie for years and its always a hit when unexpected company comes. I usually end up making at least three as they freeze so well. I also make my pie crusts ahead of time so its ready to do the next day. No turkey ever gets wasted at this house. Only the bones go out after the soup is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have been making a similar pie for years. I make a pie crust or two, and have them ready to fill after the dinner. I found that leftover dressing is best at the bottom of the pie, then green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, turkey gravy, some mashed potatoes, and then the crust. What an easy way to clean up, and we have a great dinner for later. Make one, freeze one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love pot pies. I took all my leftovers, turkey, stuffing, gravy, broccoli casserole, greenbean casserole, mashed potatoes and anything else that sounds good to you and mixed it all together. If too dry, add cream of celery or chicken soup. You can make it as thick or soupy as you want by adding milk. Toss it all together and put in a pie shell and top with another pie crust, vent and bake til bubbly. Depending on how much leftovers you have this could make 2 or more pies...Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My mom has been making this pie for years - I think I look forward to it more than the Thanksgiving turkey! Now I make it for my family. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have often added chopped celery,chopped onion, a can of mushroom soup and a can of celery soup(condensed, do not add extra milk or water). For pie crust I have used puff pastry or top with left over mashed potatoes, bake until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We enjoyed this quite a bit. I need to play with the crust a bit because mine seems a little soggy but the flavors otherwise were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Really great and Easy. I use the gravy mix from Sam's club and just made a few cups of gravy. (I 1 1/2 times this recipe to make more for my family)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
The family loves this. One time I substituted cooked diced potatoes and corn for the veggies just because that was the request from the family. I also made it with peas and carrots and corn also a hit. Thank you for this effortless and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I like this with the Grandma Ruth's crust on this site and leftover turkey. It is also good if you mix some leftover stock from another leftover turkey meal with a can of golden mushroom soup and cornstarch to thicken. I use the frozen mixed veggies with the diced carrots, peas, corn and green beans. i like to add leftover potatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States