Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Added some green onions and used sharp cheddar for 1/2 of the cheese....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very good. I used frozen diced potatoes and it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was really good. I didn't boil the potatoes, I just cubed them and fried them in a skillet with some oil, diced onions, diced peppers, some garlic and a splash or two of chicken broth. Of course, I added salt and pepper to taste. Once the potatoes started to soften I mixed in the cubed ham. When it was done I put it in the casserole dish and topped it with the cheese sauce and breadcrumbs and popped it in the oven. The only thing I would do differently next time is omit the breadcrumbs. I didn't feel like they added anything to the dish and, in the 25 minutes the dish was in the oven, they didn't really brown. So, it was like I just had raw breadcrumbs on top soaking up the cheese sauce. Other than that I will surely be making this again. It was a great use for leftover ham and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Brazdzionis
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I added some extra Italian seasoning, used a little more cheese than what the recipe called for but other than that followed it word for word. It came out delicious!! My whole family loved it, it was super easy and fast to put together and make. It's definitely now my go to recipe for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Brazdzionis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a hit. This is one of those great recipes that you can tweak according to your families tastes! I don't wait for left overs, I buy a ham slice (thick cut) and cube. I follow the recipe until I get to the bread crumbs part, as the first time I made this, the bread crumbs didn't get crunchy. So instead I added saltine crackers that I crumbled in my hands, over the top of it all, then added dollops of butter over the crushed crackers and baked accordingly. WOW, what a great buttery, crunchy addition this made. Necessary, no...but yummy, YES! P.S. This time I used a certain brand of packet cheese that is called Triple Cheddar and contains Vermont White Cheddar, Sharp Cheddar and Cream Cheese. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JERIESHA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Hamsgiving. The leftovers that keep on giving. I omitted the bread crumbs, and this was still awesome. I used half and half that I had in the fridge in lieu of milk, and it just added to the creamy texture of the extra sharp cheese sauce. Per another reviewer, I still added salt to the sauce (against my better judgment), and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERIESHA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leslie holstein
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
So good that a serving was taken out before I could take the picture. :) Very good, easy recipe. I topped mine off with some shredded cheese before adding the breadcrumbs. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this with leftover ham and veges from thanksgiving dinner. My husband is an avid casserole hater and he went back for seconds. He said he really liked this! I added some celery, carrots, red and green peppers that were left over from our relish tray. I boiled the celery and carrots with the potato and sautéed the peppers with the onion. A very tasty one dish meal! All I had for bread crumbs were Italian panko crumbs, but they added a nice flavor. Enough left over for lunch tomorrow. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
we all love this recipe and have made it probably 20 times since finding it i have even gone to friends and families houses to make it for them it is a total hit with EVERYONE thanks for sharing this with us all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a great dish, and all the other reviewers on this are spot on. I over cooked some potatoes, and ended up with a a quasi-mashed potato variation on this. My daughter and I loved it this way, but my wife thought it needed more potatoes - but she is a potato-holic. I will definitely be making this again in the future, and will be careful about overcooking next time. It will likely work best with the left-overs as suggested, instead of cooking them from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States