Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JERIESHA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Hamsgiving. The leftovers that keep on giving. I omitted the bread crumbs, and this was still awesome. I used half and half that I had in the fridge in lieu of milk, and it just added to the creamy texture of the extra sharp cheese sauce. Per another reviewer, I still added salt to the sauce (against my better judgment), and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERIESHA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leslie holstein
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
So good that a serving was taken out before I could take the picture. :) Very good, easy recipe. I topped mine off with some shredded cheese before adding the breadcrumbs. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this with leftover ham and veges from thanksgiving dinner. My husband is an avid casserole hater and he went back for seconds. He said he really liked this! I added some celery, carrots, red and green peppers that were left over from our relish tray. I boiled the celery and carrots with the potato and sautéed the peppers with the onion. A very tasty one dish meal! All I had for bread crumbs were Italian panko crumbs, but they added a nice flavor. Enough left over for lunch tomorrow. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
we all love this recipe and have made it probably 20 times since finding it i have even gone to friends and families houses to make it for them it is a total hit with EVERYONE thanks for sharing this with us all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a great dish, and all the other reviewers on this are spot on. I over cooked some potatoes, and ended up with a a quasi-mashed potato variation on this. My daughter and I loved it this way, but my wife thought it needed more potatoes - but she is a potato-holic. I will definitely be making this again in the future, and will be careful about overcooking next time. It will likely work best with the left-overs as suggested, instead of cooking them from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this for my wife for supper. She is a picky eater but she loved it! I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Yum! Very tasty. I changed things up a little based on another au gratin potato recipe I've made before. Used 4 T of flour and 2 C of milk to make a little more sauce. Used 2 C of shredded cheese and added salt, pepper, nutmeg, cayenne, and mustard to the sauce. Didn't feel like cooking anything ahead of time so layered the potatoes, onion, and ham raw in the pan and poured the sauce over it. Covered with foil and baked at 375 for 90 minutes. Excellent! Worth all the peeling and chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was so yummy!! Very simple but extremely tasty! Both my husband and son liked it. I used golden potatoes, which I think made a better choice than regular Russets. I also used half-and-half instead of the milk. It's what was on hand and it worked great! I have made this twice in the past few months and will continue to make it - it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ferrell Horwich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Had all the appropriate leftovers, but the cheese. I used pepper jack! Woohoo! I added 2T minced garlic to the onion & ham mixture. I also added fresh parsley to the potatoes. So, so, so, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sshelton8401

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I was looking for a simple ham & potato bake that wasn't complicated or too fatty. This worked out well. I used half the butter, a little less cheese, and chives instead of onions. It turned out to be delicious! We made steamed green beans & carrots on the side to make a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States