Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I used chicken and vegeables (mushrooms, onion, garlic) leftover from a crockpot dish. Just added the egg and breadcrumbs. Rave review..especially with a side of BBQ sauce! The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
this dish was alright. i found that it was dry and lacking in flavor. doing it again i would recommend a creamy sauce to go with it. the only good thing about it was that it was simpler than most of the other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holtafd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was great. I'm no great cook by far and pulled this off. For anyone with an electric stove and no thermometer I turned mine to high for the right oil temp. This was the first time I've made bread crumbs and added some parmesan cheese, thyme and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Used no parsley, I didn't have any. Sauteed diced onion and bell peppers in olive oil before adding to chicken/breadcrumb mixture. Husband made a nice sauce to go along. It was delicious. Kids love them two. They resembled crab cakes, too me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was pretty good. Added Italian bread crumbs for more flavor and did end up using two eggs. Added a spash of hot sauce and a dash of Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added spices. I used 1 cup of chopped rotisserie chicken (I cooked), 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley, 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs and 1 egg. I also added a dash of salt and pepper. I shaped them into 2 patties and cooked them on medium heat with a lid over them, flipping them once. I skipped the white sauce, and served them with marble cheddar cheese. I didn't find them bland or dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I agree that, as written, this recipe would be pretty bland and dry... Both things, though, are crazy easy to fix. Add spices till they taste good. If you had a spicy roast chicken, youll probably need to add less flavor. then add eggs. Then only add enough breadcrumbs so they stay together! (and ps. Once I made these after a stuffed chicken supper. DO add the stuffing instead of all the breadcrumbs. My 2and 3yr olds couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I added chopped garlic to this recipe and it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. Its a family pleaser. I use it often. The croquettes can be frozen and are a great re-heat in the microwave. Great alternative for a decent fast meal for those nights when the family is on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe is a good starter, but it can become fabulous with a bit of tweaking. Here’s what I did to add a bit more flavor and much more moisture. To enhance the flavor, I added a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, and a dash or two of cayenne pepper to the chicken mixture. To add moisture to the croquettes, I decreased the breadcrumbs by a 1/2 cup and made a roux by melting a stick of butter and whisking in a 1/2 cup of flour, a 1/2 cup of milk, and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I whisked the mixture over low heat until thick and smooth and allowed it to cool for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cooled roux to the chicken mixture. I covered the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for about two hours. Later I shaped the mixture into patties and browned them on both sides. These croquettes were much better than the first ones I made. Perhaps these suggestions will help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States