Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made these last night and they were very good--- great way to use up leftover rotisserie chicken. Since reading the other reviews, I added about 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and I also added celery to the onion mixture. It was too dry with 2 eggs so I added chicken broth instead of another egg. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Loved this = used dried parsley and a bit of Italian herbs, chilled after made into patties, then dipped in buttermilk and coated with panko and chilled again until dinner time. Skillet cooked in butter/olive oil - hubby said I should be a cooking teacher - he LOVED it and wants the leftovers (leftover leftovers - lol) for lunch tomorrow. Served with simple spaghetti (w/capers, dried tomatoes, and sauteed garlic) and mixed steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Len Fillmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made these tonight and also ran through the reviews. What is great about this recipe is how versatile they are to do with what you want. I put my onions in processor and then sauteed them with olive oil and parsley paste...processed red bell pepper and I didn't saute these so they would retain a little crunch. I processed the chicken to a fine chop and then mixed it all together adding ginger paste, salt, pepper, dried basil, a dried garlic blend called Garlic Lover's Garlic by Oregon Flavor Rack, egg, and panko crumbs. I let it sit for about 15 minutes and pan fried them. I topped them with a mayo, lemon juice, garlic blend. It was delicious and my 6 year old loved them. I am premaking uncooked patties to put into the freezer. They were great served with steamed broccoli with lemon juice and a small salad. We will do these again. I was thinking thai spices may be good too. The recipe was very inspirational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peter
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great substituted leftover turkey from Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I haven't had croquettes in over 30 years. Decided to try this recipe out and it came out perfectly!!! I added celery, parm cheese and chives to the recipe. I used a food chopper for the onions, chicken and celery. My family loved it. Hopefully it doesn't take another 30 years to eat this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was tasty but dry. I would make some kind of sauce with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These are really tasty! Turned out a tad dry for my tastes, but that probably depends on how you cook the chicken you use in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These were yummy. Based on the reviews I made a few minor changes. I added 2 eggs plus a bit of egg beaters. I added italian seasoning and sage to my breadcrumbs as I was using plain. I only added 1 cup of breadcrumbs because I only had 2.5 cups of chicken. I sauteed my onions with garlic in butter. I added dried parsley. I fried these in oil on the stove and they came out delicious with a nice crust, and moist and flavourful on the inside. I like the idea someone posted about serving this with melted cheese and pasta sauce, but I just served mine on the side of some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I never review a recipe, but I have to say this was not good. They were very dry and just not good..sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My variation on this good recipe. Sauteed about 2 cups chopped onions. Toward the end of sauteeing, added some Italian seasoning, some taco seasoning, little garlic powder, about 1/3 can mild green chillies, 2 tbl. pimento. After that, added one can of chunky canned chicken (Costco), chopping it down a little. Let everything blend a little. Removed the whole mixture to a mixing bowl. Added 1-extra large beaten egg, Italian bread crumbs to help in forming patties. Used Panko crumbs to coat the patties before frying until golden brown. Made about 6 patties. Turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States