Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Tried this for a last minute meal and wow they are yummy! I took a few suggestions from other reviews. I did blend the chicken but not the onion. Also I added a few spices to my families liking (garlic powder, basil). I did keep the parsley, pepper and salt too. I did find that I needed another egg to keep them together. Didn't take long to whip up and was amazing. I used leftover roasted chicken from another recipe I found on this site (sticky rotisserie chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I used turkey because that is what I had. It still came out really good. I added a few shakes of soy sauce, chopped garlic and cayenne pepper. My family loved it! I served them with cornbread (grandmother's buttermilk cornbread) and a garden salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by totalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made these. solid 4 stars based on the additions from the reviews. Like many ppl i added Parmesan cheese, italian seasoning & chicken stock. i tasted it before i added the egg. Flavor wise, i would give this 5 stars. texture wise it's a 3, which is why i net out at a 4. I couldn't get a super good crust on it, i guess i would have to deep fry it, which i didn't want to do to keep it healthy. when i think croquettes, i think crunchy, crispy, which these weren't exactly. but they taste great and are worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I read the reviews and followed the suggested advise to taste the mixture before adding eggs. I did that but it still turned out awful. I put everything in the food processor, so it was basically mush,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I played with this recipe... swapped out the leftover chicken for cooked Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage. I did add the extra egg. Served with a side of mashed potatoes and gravy... it is like thanksgiving!!! My whole family LOVED IT! I would definitely recommend using Johnsonville sausage for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. Any leftover chicken, I throw into a freezer bag until I have enough to make. I use my own seasonings, to our personal tastes. Sometimes I make a cheese sauce or white sauce to serve on top. After preparing, these patties freeze well to heat up in a low oven and eat, again. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made these last night and they were very good--- great way to use up leftover rotisserie chicken. Since reading the other reviews, I added about 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and I also added celery to the onion mixture. It was too dry with 2 eggs so I added chicken broth instead of another egg. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Loved this = used dried parsley and a bit of Italian herbs, chilled after made into patties, then dipped in buttermilk and coated with panko and chilled again until dinner time. Skillet cooked in butter/olive oil - hubby said I should be a cooking teacher - he LOVED it and wants the leftovers (leftover leftovers - lol) for lunch tomorrow. Served with simple spaghetti (w/capers, dried tomatoes, and sauteed garlic) and mixed steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made these tonight and also ran through the reviews. What is great about this recipe is how versatile they are to do with what you want. I put my onions in processor and then sauteed them with olive oil and parsley paste...processed red bell pepper and I didn't saute these so they would retain a little crunch. I processed the chicken to a fine chop and then mixed it all together adding ginger paste, salt, pepper, dried basil, a dried garlic blend called Garlic Lover's Garlic by Oregon Flavor Rack, egg, and panko crumbs. I let it sit for about 15 minutes and pan fried them. I topped them with a mayo, lemon juice, garlic blend. It was delicious and my 6 year old loved them. I am premaking uncooked patties to put into the freezer. They were great served with steamed broccoli with lemon juice and a small salad. We will do these again. I was thinking thai spices may be good too. The recipe was very inspirational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peter
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great substituted leftover turkey from Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States