Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I used leftovers from a rotisserie chicken, this tasted awesome! I served it over biscuits. I did add a little extra cornstarch just to make sure it thickened up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I don't have much luck with corn starch, so judge this review accordingly. This was a complete disaster - it burned before it thickened and was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Enjoyed the recipe very much. Quick, easy and a great way to use a small amount of leftover chicken. I did use a little more cornstarch than called for to thicken it. My husband asked for his over rice and cleaned his plate while I spooned mine over cresent rolls. Good on a cold evening! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Had lots of KFC chix left over and needed a quick filling supper for the family. Adding the wine (actually didn't need much at all) gave the sauce a great flavor. I also used quite a bit of corn with peas and carrots. The corn added a crunchy texture to what would have been a "mushy" meal when I mixed it with noodles. Everyone liked the dish...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spar97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The previous reviewers suggestions to add spices and more cornstarch were helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very good! A great way to use up my leftover chicken! I added the curry, chili powder, paparika and ground cumin that someone else mentioned and it was really great!! I did add 1 TBS of cornstarch instead of 2 TSP (it's only 1 TSP more) it seemed to help thicken it up better. I served it over rice but I think it would be great over potatoes too!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I just made this using leftover turkey roast and peas. We had it over rice. Everyone liked it, which is quite an accomplishment considering we are a family of eight! I did have to more than double the amount of cornstarch, but eventually it thickened. Thanks for a new "regular" for a large, fussy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
One thing I notice is that there's no mention of bringing the mixture to a boil after adding the cornstarch. This may be why some people haven't been able to get the gravy to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
My husband loved it! He is very picky on food and he just really loved this recipe. He ask me to make this once in awhile whenever I make chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was really tasty!! I have always made a roux and added milk for a white sauce in the past, but this was more flavorful with the chicken stock added. Be careful not to over use the cornstarch thickening agent; if you do, you shoud start with a larger can of evaporated milk. This was easy and fast, and my hubbie said to make this again! Served over big biscuits. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States