Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
We both loved this.I didn't have any canned milk so I just used 5 ozs of milk.Next time I plan on adding more milk and a little less broth.This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I loved this, and surprisingly my husband did too. Since I had way more than the one cup of chicken and my cans of broth and evaporated milk were also larger then amount called for I doubled the recipe. Served over toast the first night - then the 2nd night I used what was left to make a pot pie. Used frozen pie crusts, peeled and diced a couple potatoes and boiled them until tender. After draining potatoes well, put them in the bottom of the pie crust then poured a la king mixture on top, then put top crust on and sealed and baked for 30 min @ 400 degress F. It came out golden brown. I let this set for about 20 min before cutting into it. It sliced beautifully... not too runny, not too dry. And just like that... We had a new favorite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
After reading some of the other reviews I knew to add extra corn starch and added some spices but it turned out excellent. thanks, it is easy and an outstanding dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great served with biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I gave this a 5 based on it's ease and use of leftovers. I made this with a few changes however. I'm sure as is, it's a tasty as can be but I don't like canned milk or cornstarch. Thusly, I started with a little over two cups of cut up left over roast chicken, into the big fry pan with that along with two cups of chicken broth, about a cup of last nights leftover wild rice and another 1/2 cup of leftover green beans and another cup of mixed frozen veggies, got that to simmerin like it says. From there in another pot, I made a simple bechamel using 2 tbsp butter, 3 tbsp flour and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of cream. That thickened up immediately and I added it to the chicken mixture. Served it with baking powder biscuits and it was a great warm yummy leftover dinner. Of note, I added absolutley zero seasoning but it could use some pepper. With the butter and cream this goes about 180 calories per serving not including the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great way to use left-over chicken. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used some homo instead and it was fine. I also added some worcestershire sauce for flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very easy & tasty. I did use fresh carrots, celery, and frozen corn as a substitute, which was very good. I like to use fresh if I have the time. I ended up adding more cornstarch as well...just mixed a little with a small amount of cold water & added to mixture. Would also work great as a chicken potpie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This came out soooo good!! I had leftover pieces of KFC so I pulled and diced the meat. Then used frozen corn,canned diced potatoes and canned carrots. Also added a touch of nutmeg and sage. I had no problemwith the consistency, maybe due to using canned veges. Served over grands biscuits. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Good concept but way too thin, even when I doubled the cornstarch. Next time I will go back to my old stand-by - making a roux first with 4 tablespoons butter, 4 tablespoons flour and 2 cups of mixed milk and chicken broth. By the way, when you make anything with leftover chicken, it's good to add sage and parsley - just seems to fit really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent meal on a cold day. Followed the recipe exactly as written. The only problem was eating too much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States