Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My husband LOVED it. We followed the recipe using ham. I did cook the noodles before I added them to the rest of the ingredients, and that worked great. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken, and I used half swiss cheese and half chedder, which added some additional flavor. My husband recommended crumpling potato chips on top for the last 15 minutes of baking, which turned out to be a nice touch. I will definitely make this again with whatever leftover meats I have. It was simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a good basic recipe. I used left-over Easter ham. I cooked the macaroni first and added frozen peas the last few minutes of cooking instead of the mixed vegetables. I also added 1/2 a diced onion, garlic powder, and dry mustard. I substituted Monterey Jack cheese as that was what I had on hand. It was quite tasty and my husband liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We loved this casserole. Only changes I made was to saute a chopped onion in a couple of tablespoons of butter, used egg noodles rather than macaroni and topped with crushed Ritz crackers sprayed with butter Pam. It was enough for 3 meals for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great! I used a can of green beans instead of mixed veggies because that's what I had on hand, and it was very tasty! I also cooked the noodles about half the normal cooking time before adding them so that they would be partially cooked, because I don't think that amount of liquid would have cooked them completely. A great way to use up leftovers and a great comforting potluck meal. Next time I might put a little more liquid in it and cover it for half the cooking time so the noodles on top don't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCpastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very good recipe. I didn't have any cream of soup so I added more milk and used left over pork roast and frozen mixed veggies. I did not cook the pasta before hand, I figured the extra time in the oven was worth not dirtying another pot and colander and being the same amount of time. I was very crunchy on top. I think this would work better in bowl type casserole dish than in a 9x13 pan. Less surface area to get hard and crunchy. But, my hubby said it's a keeper which he doesn't say very often to new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
With Changes I made this recipe is great. Quick and Easy, Kids even ate it! I cooked the pasta, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken, I added fresh broc. and frozen pea's (just stuff I had on hand.. turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Good, I did add crushed croutons to the top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Needed a lot of extra spices to make it taste like anything. But my husband likes it so it must be good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is lacking serious instructions. What the author forgot to mention was to add 1 (8 ounce) package elbow macaroni - COOKED! If you follow the instructions given you will not be eating in 45 mins. I followed this recipe without cooking the noodles but felt because the noodles were uncooked it needed more liquid - so I doubled the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden-Carleton, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My family really enjoyed this with a few changes that I made. I cooked the macaroni first, substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken as that's what I had on hand, added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper, and sprinkled french fried onion rings on top. The only other change I'll make in the future is to saute some onions to mix in to give it a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States