Lee's Incredible Momos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very tasty! For the filling I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used 1T of dried cilantro instead. Also for the dipping sauce I didn't have chile oil but did have hot chile paste so I used 2t vegetable oil and 1t chile paste. The only problem I had was steaming them. I had a lot of them and used egg roll wrappers instead of wonton -- the wrappers were really thin and stuck fast to the metal of the steamer tray, and to each other. So they tasted good but kind of fell apart when I tried to take them out. I will experiment more with this (different folding method or cooking longer, or cooking uncovered instead of covered) because the recipe was good enough for me to want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I thought that the recipe was very good. I had trouble with the wrappers because it they all stuck together. The dipping sauce was a bit too spicy for my family, so for those who don't like things too spicy, I suggest using half the chili oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I made this for my traditional New Years eve dinner as the appetizer. I used Hot Chili Sauce instead of Chili oil. Where I live you do a lot of substitutions. Did'nt know how to make finalize the Won Tons so I made them into purses with the four corners coming together. Also doubled the sauce recipe to give everyone plenty. All loved them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I originally reviewed this recipe and gave it lower rating, but I did some research. I really like this recipe and I love the flavor, filling, etc., plus it's easy to make and calls for stuff you have around the house. BUT - when you steam them, YUCK! The wrappers look gross, and they stick together, rip apart, etc. That was what made this UNuseful to me. Maybe this little piece of information will help: when you steam these, you either need to space them apart so they are not touching, OR you need to oil the wonton wrapper (or egg roll wrappers, if you use bigger ones, like I did) so they won't stick. I am excited to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Very good recipe and very easy to make. Very close to what I was served at at tibetian tea. I have also used dumpling wrappers from the local asian market. If you take the momos out while they're hot you can give them a quick coat of oil to keep them from sticking. Keep them spaced in the steamer to avoid any sticking. We prefer using sweet Thai chili sauce for dipping. All around a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
These came out really yummy! Dumplings are one of those things that I just crave sometimes, and these were made with things that I normally have in the pantry anyway! I steamed half like was suggested and then pan-fried half in about 3 Tbls. vegetable oil because I didn't want to wait another 30 mins. Both were equally delicious. The fried took about 7 minutes. Thanks Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I tried a different approach. I cooked the ingredients together first. I then spooned them into the round wrappers. I baked them in the oven on a cookie sheet just until the edges were brown. They were good but needed a sweet dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Authentic momos would not be made with beef as many people from this area of the world are Hindus. Try using ground chicken, goat or pork. Cumin is also a necessity to differentiate it from goyza or Chinese dumplings. Also, momo is made with round wraps and not the square won ton wraps called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
When steaming: I lived in China and when my friends steamed they used bamboo steamers and oiled the wood - I also observed some using oiled cheese cloth as a layer on the bottom of the steamers. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Here is my Momo tip of the day that got rave reviews from my guest. prepare as instructed but instead of steaming get a nice large non stick skillet on medium heat with a couple Tbls of light oil like EVOO. Place the dumplings in the hot skillet large side down and cook without turning 5 minutes until brown. get a nice tight fitting lid then drizzle a couple of TBLS of water into skillet and slap the lid on let cook for another 5 min or so... Oh Man! Make a nice spicy-sweet dipping sauce and you are rockin! serve em hot! Good luck keeping up with the demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States