Lee's Incredible Momos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
How do you keep wontons from sticking to steamer pot? Tasted good, but they all stuck to my pot and fell apart when I tried to remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Store bought pot stickers can't even come close to the flavor of these. Whole house absolutely loved them. Only I used gyoza wrappers instead of wonton wrappers. I used a little extra ginger in the last few momo's and I quite liked it better, and I don't even like ginger! I would recommend using more ginger in the whole mix. Which I can't believe I'm typing. 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I followed the suggestion to fry and then steam and they turned out WONDERFUL! I also just steamed them and they were pretty good too. The baking method (which I also tried) didn't turn out all that well. Any way you do it though, they have great flavor. My question is: How did anybody get all that mix into 12 wrappers?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Momos are actually form Nepal. Instead of onions if you fry shallot till golden and mix it with the meat it'll taste better. Plus there is a different dipping sauce for momos fry some cut tomatoes till the its kinda dry ( you might want to add some water in the pot to take the tomato stuck in the pot out ) and blend it with some fresh cilantro fried garlic chilies and salt to taste. Add some sesame seeds before blending to make the sauce a bit thick so that it sticks to the momos. If you go to some indian store you can buy some spices for momo to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Here is my Momo tip of the day that got rave reviews from my guest. prepare as instructed but instead of steaming get a nice large non stick skillet on medium heat with a couple Tbls of light oil like EVOO. Place the dumplings in the hot skillet large side down and cook without turning 5 minutes until brown. get a nice tight fitting lid then drizzle a couple of TBLS of water into skillet and slap the lid on let cook for another 5 min or so... Oh Man! Make a nice spicy-sweet dipping sauce and you are rockin! serve em hot! Good luck keeping up with the demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
When steaming: I lived in China and when my friends steamed they used bamboo steamers and oiled the wood - I also observed some using oiled cheese cloth as a layer on the bottom of the steamers. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Authentic momos would not be made with beef as many people from this area of the world are Hindus. Try using ground chicken, goat or pork. Cumin is also a necessity to differentiate it from goyza or Chinese dumplings. Also, momo is made with round wraps and not the square won ton wraps called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I tried a different approach. I cooked the ingredients together first. I then spooned them into the round wrappers. I baked them in the oven on a cookie sheet just until the edges were brown. They were good but needed a sweet dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
These came out really yummy! Dumplings are one of those things that I just crave sometimes, and these were made with things that I normally have in the pantry anyway! I steamed half like was suggested and then pan-fried half in about 3 Tbls. vegetable oil because I didn't want to wait another 30 mins. Both were equally delicious. The fried took about 7 minutes. Thanks Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Very good recipe and very easy to make. Very close to what I was served at at tibetian tea. I have also used dumpling wrappers from the local asian market. If you take the momos out while they're hot you can give them a quick coat of oil to keep them from sticking. Keep them spaced in the steamer to avoid any sticking. We prefer using sweet Thai chili sauce for dipping. All around a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States