Leek Tomato Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
My husband and I really liked this dish. There was a little liquid in the bottom of the pan but I just spooned it out. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This was super easy to assemble and make. I made it for a father's day picnic and out of 5 side dishes, there were no leftovers on this one. We sliced the leek the night before and soaked them in a bowl of water to get all the sand out. In the morning, all I had to do was assemble and bake. It was super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This recipe was extremely easy and the taste was out of this world. The only thing that I changed was the amount of grated mozarella on the top. I just grated it all over the top instead of the small amount it required. I will make this recipe many, many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I went to the farmer's market the other day and happened to buy both leeks and tomatoes, so decided to try this. It is really good. Flavorful and so, so easy!!! AS was mentioned, some liquid does accumulate at the bottom..so just serve with a slotted spoon. Also, I was out of sage and thyme, so I just used Italian seasoning...and it tasted great! will definitely make again and again. In fact...I think I'll go back to the farmer's market tomorrow and get some more tomatoes and more leeks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was pretty good, not great, but good. I went through a lot of trouble to find leeks and I think this would have come out just as good with yellow onions. The leeks seemed chewy....maybe I didn't cook it long enough. There was so much liquid at the bottom. If I make this again, I may just use onions, cheaper and easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Made this last night and it was the most enthusiastic I've ever seen Himself about a vegetable dish (normally you have to chloroform him to get any down him at all). Only change made - as I didn't have any dried sage - was a sprinkle of McCormicks Greek Seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I made this as written, and thought it was ok. I sliced the leeks very finely - I should have used less green, I think. They were a tad tough and bitter - and broke the slices apart into rings so they would cook better. I wish I'd added a little diced onion to the leek layer, and also used some extra-sharp Cheddar with the mozzerella. This was quite nice for a change, but I'm in no hurry to make it again. If I did, I would probably omit the leeks altogether. Thanks, anyway. (PS, I did, in fact make it again - the next day. That time I omitted the leeks, and used tomato, onion and mushroom. It worked really well, reminiscent of pizza!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was really good, but kinda' soupy. It would have been very good with rice as a bottom layer, which could have soaked up some of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angyl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
No, this what not I was looking when I planned to make leek this way as it was very much chewy, I am disappointed , next time I wont add leek at all to the recipe,may be subs with cabbage or mushroom will do good ,provided cabbage also is precooked a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide for preparing leeks, of which I had bunches. However, I had no tomatoes, no buttery crackers, and no mozz. So I used plain breadcrumbs, white cheddar, and omitted the tomatoes. Then followed the recipe as written, and it was fantastic! No soggy bottom, no pools of liquid (which of course is caused by the cooking tomatoes). Next time I may use the tomatoes for just as "variation" but I will seed them first. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pancetta-Wrapped Leek Gratin

Leeks are wrapped in pancetta, topped with Parmesan and cream, and baked.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States