Leek Tomato Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I liked it but my daughter didn't. But she's finicky, so take that one seriously!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I cooked this tonight because I had leeks and plum tomatoes on hand from a local farm bag. The only change that I made was that I used swiss cheese (because that was all I had). Results were fabulous ! The swiss cheese was delicious with the leeks. Some reviewers commented on liquid remaining on the bottom. I had none. It was perfect. Perhaps the plum tomatoes made a difference? I also let mine sit in the warm oven for about 15-20 min after it was finished. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
6-3-11: Ann likes this better than I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Personally, we did not care for this at all. I felt way too many leeks for my taste. It was a beutiful dish for presentation but I just didn't think it was keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is a nice light side dish for a hot day. I deseeded the tomatoes and used just the white and light green parts of the leeks. Also left out the thyme from the topping and added in some garlic powder. I had crackers to use up this time but another time I'd probably just use breadcrumbs. Thanks for the recipe Sal we all enjoyed it,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I thought this was really yum, but my family wouldn't eat it! More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My tomatoes must have been too dry as this came out dry, undercooked and the flavors didn't meld at all. I did, however pop the leftovers in a skillet the next day with some chicken broth and simmer for 1/2 hour and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious! I changed it a little for my lactose intollerance. Almond milk was a great sub. And I added flax seeds to the crumbs, also rice cheese tastes great on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was the best ever! It came out perfect. Even my picky 6 year liked it :) If you de-seed the tomato first it won't have so much liquid. Also sourdough bread crumbs in place of the buttery crackers ROCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A creative dish that's eye-pleasing and very quick to throw together. I only had one leek, so I made 1/8 of the recipe. I liked the combination of ingredients, though next time, I would reduce the amount of rosemary and sage, as the bitterness/pungentness of these spices only heighten the bitterness of the leek. I would increase the amount of thyme, crackers, and cheese (by a substantial amount for the latter two). If the crackers and cheese are not themselves too salty, I would also add a pinch of salt. I used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pancetta-Wrapped Leek Gratin

Leeks are wrapped in pancetta, topped with Parmesan and cream, and baked.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States