Lebkuchen VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are very tasty. I don't grease my cookie sheets, I use either parchment or silicone mats. These stuck to my silicone mats. Parchment worked fine. I live in a town with a large military population, and I think I'll just buy these from the pros at my local german bakery. I only gave them three stars because of the stickiness, taste is a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Our family recipe is a little simpler but very close. One thing we do is to mellow them. this was the hardest part as a kid we so desperately wanted to eat them right then and there. Most bakery Lebkuchen are too wimpy and crispy for me, chewy is where it's at. Store in an airtight container for a few days. Add a cut orange or apple. remember fruit molds so change the fruit frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I have been looking for a good recipe to make these cookies for a long time - when I was growing up in England, we used to have a constant supply of lebkuchen in the cupboard at Christmas time; a gift from German friends. I used to sneak them up to my bedroom after supper! I followed the recipe to the letter except for one thing - I didn't have candied citrus, but I did have dried lemon peel from the local wholefood store, so I soaked 1/3 cup of dried lemon peel in the juice of half a lemon (the juice of the other half I used as directed in the rest of the recipe) for the time it took to boil the honey and molasses and assemble the rest of the ingredients. This was a long shot! After chilling the batter in the fridge for a good 24 hours, I made sure that the rolling pin and board were well-floured, and rolled out small batches. I used a 3-inch cookie cutter to stamp out rounds. Just make sure that you dab the cookie cutter in flour and keep the board well-floured, and you should be fine. The result was fantastic - I think the lemon peel made the cookies a bit "munchy" but they weren't tart, which was my only concern. It's quite easy to find recipes to make candied citrus online, otherwise. This is a great recipe! I iced some, and spread chocolate on others. I have been eating them all day. Not sure I'll be doing the storage thing with the fruit juice! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I was station in Germany and grew to love their cookies. This recipe was great and lets revisit the country each time I eat a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been using a recipe similar to this for over 40 years. It came to me from my Cincinnati-born grandmother (1882-1964) of German heritage. The only difference is the addition of 1 teaspoon of ground ginger and I use chopped pecans, which makes it the American version. I also use 3 packed cups of flour so the dough is not so sticky for handling and bake at 375 for 15 minutes. I have used a dog-bone-shaped cookie cutter for fun but usually just roll and cut into rectangles, 24 per batch. Never have had the patience to wait a few days for mellowing. Select family members get some each Christmas. It is a lot of work but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Definitely refrigerate the dough overnight, but my mom (who got the recipe from my dad's German family) always divided it in two, and then patted each half into a rectangle nearly the total size of a cookie sheet. Place half a blanched almond where each cookie will be. When baked, cut lines horizontally and diagonally so cookies are almond shaped. Saves all that rolling! Also, make a least A MONTH in advance and put away in a tin to age. The rule in my family was if the lebkuchen hasn't been made by Thanksgiving, it's too late to make it in time for xmas! It's good any time -- no oil, so it's practically fat free! Did you notice? Haven't tried this version yet so can't accurately rate the comparable flavor -- Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is the same as my Oma's recipe, It gets better as it ages. She would hide a box of them from us. - I also use the microwave to do the molasses and honey, much simpler clean up. - The stickiness I solved not with flour, but with an oil spray like Pam. Keeps stuff from sticking, and no extra flour taste. - Also, keep it chilled and only bring out of the fridge what you can cut for 2 pans at a time (my oven size) - Make sure you space them right, they will spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ailshie Dormady

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
very tasty but soooooo sticky! How did others manage the cookie cutters? I am trying for Christmas shapes and it is very difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved making this recipe, i thought it tasted just like real german lebkuchen, which i love! Only downside is that the sugar topping didn't work out from me. However, this didn't detract from the finished product which was still great. When rolling out the dough i would recommend not putting too much flour on your surface but just rubbing in a little bit to the top and bottom (after every couple of rolls out) this kept the dough nice and not too floury but also helped it roll out very easily! i could even easily cut mine out into star shapes which i was impressed with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
A few years ago I had tried a different lebkuchen recipe and although it was good, it paled in comparison to this one. According to my husband, this was better than the lebkuchen that I usually order from Germany. I would agree that this recipe requires chilling overnight in the refrigerator. To get over the stickiness, I found the following technique useful. Definitely get the back oblaten (communion wafers). I got the 70mm size. Set those on a cookie sheet. Use a cookie scoop and prior to scooping out some dough, dip it in flour. Coat your hands with flour and take the scooped out dough and roll it into a ball. Smash it down on one of the back oblaten. Use your fingers to push the dough out to the edges of the wafers. The portion size should be about perfect for the 1/4 inch suggested. If you find your fingers or cookie scoop getting sticky, just coat them with more flour. You don't have to worry about pulling dough of a roller and you're not mixing in a lot of extra flour. Although the glaze is really good, I took some of my lebkuchen and coated the tops with melted chocolate. I had some difficulty finding citron and hazelnuts but found a really good website that I was able to order both from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States