Lebkuchen VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is the exact same recipe passed down from my mother, which means this recipe is at least 50 years old. Anyway, same sticky problem, but I froze the dough in parchment in a Baggie, cut small chunks off with a knife, and rolled it between parchment paper. My problem with adding more flour is that to me, the finished cookie tasted too floury. Still not easy, but changed the game for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I had no problems with the dough. Just make sure it's really cold and you use lots of flour. Honestly it wasn't harder than cutouts for me. However the icing was another issue. Must have let it get too hot because it turned hard as a rock soon as I added the powdered sugar. I'll try to find another recipe that will give me that outer shell I remember. The reason for the 4 stars is that this was a little chewier than I remember as a kid. Still close though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very nice. My friend gave me some Lebkuchen last year's Christmas and I've always wanted to recreate them. These were nice and the spices were perfect. I love the texture. For me, I kept the batter in a bowl overnight in the fridge and the next day, took out half-tablespoonfuls of batter, rolled it up into a ball, place it on some parchment paper, layered another sheet over it and pressed it flat with the underside of a glass until it's 1/4 inch thick. Then, I slowly peel off the layer of parchment between the glass and the cookie dough. Not much of a mess. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeyren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good. My German colleagues loved them and want me to try their family recipe here in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe, used it many times. F.Y.I. it is verbatim from a Betty Crocker cookbook from the 60s though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I didn't roll them out but made little 1-inch balls of dough and then pressed them lightly to create little "domes". Much less hassle! I was at first worried that it they would be too sweet (especially after glazing them in more sugar), but they are perfect! My favourite recipe this season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are very tasty. I don't grease my cookie sheets, I use either parchment or silicone mats. These stuck to my silicone mats. Parchment worked fine. I live in a town with a large military population, and I think I'll just buy these from the pros at my local german bakery. I only gave them three stars because of the stickiness, taste is a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Our family recipe is a little simpler but very close. One thing we do is to mellow them. this was the hardest part as a kid we so desperately wanted to eat them right then and there. Most bakery Lebkuchen are too wimpy and crispy for me, chewy is where it's at. Store in an airtight container for a few days. Add a cut orange or apple. remember fruit molds so change the fruit frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I have been looking for a good recipe to make these cookies for a long time - when I was growing up in England, we used to have a constant supply of lebkuchen in the cupboard at Christmas time; a gift from German friends. I used to sneak them up to my bedroom after supper! I followed the recipe to the letter except for one thing - I didn't have candied citrus, but I did have dried lemon peel from the local wholefood store, so I soaked 1/3 cup of dried lemon peel in the juice of half a lemon (the juice of the other half I used as directed in the rest of the recipe) for the time it took to boil the honey and molasses and assemble the rest of the ingredients. This was a long shot! After chilling the batter in the fridge for a good 24 hours, I made sure that the rolling pin and board were well-floured, and rolled out small batches. I used a 3-inch cookie cutter to stamp out rounds. Just make sure that you dab the cookie cutter in flour and keep the board well-floured, and you should be fine. The result was fantastic - I think the lemon peel made the cookies a bit "munchy" but they weren't tart, which was my only concern. It's quite easy to find recipes to make candied citrus online, otherwise. This is a great recipe! I iced some, and spread chocolate on others. I have been eating them all day. Not sure I'll be doing the storage thing with the fruit juice! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I was station in Germany and grew to love their cookies. This recipe was great and lets revisit the country each time I eat a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States