Lebkuchen VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by l337jacqui
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
i made these for my opa's 84th birthday a few weeks ago, and he loved them (so did everyone else, but i wanted to make them special for him since he came over from germany when he was 25). i told him i couldn't remember the name of them, but when he bit into one, he immediately said, "lebkuchen!" and he said how they reminded him of germany. success! that is exactly what i wanted i made the recipe exactly as stated, but i did do packed cups of flour. also, instead of cookies, i rolled out the dough on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and baked them for 8 minutes. they stayed chewy soft and were REALLY good. i made the mistake of brushing on the sugar syrup over the whole rolled out sheet of cookie (thinking it would save time than brushing each one), but it dries so fast, that when i cut them into bars, the sugar coating cracked all over the place hahaha...still tasted super good! just next time i would take the extra time and brush each cut-out bar. i am going to add a photo to the gallery so you can see what i mean! these were fabulous though, and everyone loved them, especially my german native opa! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l337jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I just finished baking. This recipe is perfect! My intention was to make these now and hide them for Christmas. Well, it did not worked. They taste so good and smell so tempting.... I will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Hardwicke
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These came out great. I loved the amount of spices in the cookies. Some things I changed: I made my own candied lemon peel the day before. I also didn't like the sugar glaze that this recipe uses, as it left my cookies looking glossy and sticky, unlike the frosty and matte I was expecting. I just mixed powdered sugar and warm water to a paste-like consistency and spread it on the cookie. I also dipped the bottom of the cookies in chocolate. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and put the cookies in a container with an apple slice to soften them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hardwicke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is the exact same recipe passed down from my mother, which means this recipe is at least 50 years old. Anyway, same sticky problem, but I froze the dough in parchment in a Baggie, cut small chunks off with a knife, and rolled it between parchment paper. My problem with adding more flour is that to me, the finished cookie tasted too floury. Still not easy, but changed the game for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I had no problems with the dough. Just make sure it's really cold and you use lots of flour. Honestly it wasn't harder than cutouts for me. However the icing was another issue. Must have let it get too hot because it turned hard as a rock soon as I added the powdered sugar. I'll try to find another recipe that will give me that outer shell I remember. The reason for the 4 stars is that this was a little chewier than I remember as a kid. Still close though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very nice. My friend gave me some Lebkuchen last year's Christmas and I've always wanted to recreate them. These were nice and the spices were perfect. I love the texture. For me, I kept the batter in a bowl overnight in the fridge and the next day, took out half-tablespoonfuls of batter, rolled it up into a ball, place it on some parchment paper, layered another sheet over it and pressed it flat with the underside of a glass until it's 1/4 inch thick. Then, I slowly peel off the layer of parchment between the glass and the cookie dough. Not much of a mess. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeyren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good. My German colleagues loved them and want me to try their family recipe here in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe, used it many times. F.Y.I. it is verbatim from a Betty Crocker cookbook from the 60s though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I didn't roll them out but made little 1-inch balls of dough and then pressed them lightly to create little "domes". Much less hassle! I was at first worried that it they would be too sweet (especially after glazing them in more sugar), but they are perfect! My favourite recipe this season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are very tasty. I don't grease my cookie sheets, I use either parchment or silicone mats. These stuck to my silicone mats. Parchment worked fine. I live in a town with a large military population, and I think I'll just buy these from the pros at my local german bakery. I only gave them three stars because of the stickiness, taste is a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States