Lebkuchen IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made the citron from scratch, then put together the dough. I followed the instructions to the letter, and carefully put them in a 400 degree oven and set the timer. Within 6 minutes, all the cookies were burned. I put them on the middle rack, and I have not had any temperature problems with my oven. Luckily I had a little dough left over and I am currently baking them at 325 degrees under a watchful eye. I also agree with another review that says the glaze is too sticky and goopy. What is needed is more like a cake doughnut glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to the one we have been making for 30 years in our half-German family. It was from a magazine cookie contest (the only difference is that we use a lemon glaze made from confectioner's sugar which we spoon over cooled lebkuchen). Reviewer complaints about the cookies being way too hard are true ONLY IF YOU DO NOT LET THEM AGE. The cookies soften to a beautiful cake-like consistency after three weeks sealed in a tin, and the spices flavours bloom during that time as well. These last for over 2 months at room temperature, making them excellent for storing and shipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terry haussler
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is one that has been in my husband's family for a very long time. We don't add the nuts, and we cut down on the citron, but they turn out very good. I think this is my son't favorite cookie. They are very spicy and chewy. I do the glaze twice sometimes, just for extra sweetness. You can tell that from my picture. Not very pretty, but oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
otice no significant liquids, no shortening. I ended up with a bowl of sweet spicy flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was disappointed with these. I spent my childhood in Germany and Lebkuchen was always a favorite. These taste good, and for taste, I would give this probably 4-4.5 stars, but the consistency is all wrong - MUCH too crisp and hard, unlike what Lebkuchen is supposed to be, which is almost cakey. The directions to roll these to 1/4" is not right - if you roll to 1/2-3/4", they turn out a lot better. I would also bake these a little less than called for, these turned out much too hard. Better for cutting out gingerbread men or building a gingerbread house out of. The glaze also wasn't right - much too gloopy and sticky, I ended up only doing the first batch and then throwing out the rest of the glaze - they are good plain, or I might add some melted chocolate. I used the Back-Oblaten someone mentioned - the edible paper wafers as a base. I didn't have the problem with stickiness everyone else had, if anything it came out of the fridge much too hard and I had to gently warm it to make it pliable and workable again, although to be fair, I added 1/4-1/2 cup more flour. I'm also in the UK, and I think the flour may be a different consistency than US flours, which might help. To sum up, I think these need to be thicker, baked less and possibly need more of a levening agent to get them cakier/softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the old Betty Crocker cookbook version that I grew up with--a favorite Christmas cookie, for sure!!! But I seem to remember an amount of time to boil the glaze, like maybe 5 minutes? If you're finding the dough too sticky, it's probably because you're using a mixer. That makes a softer dough, for some reason. I boil the honey/molasses mixture in a medium sized saucepan, then add the other ingredients and stir by hand--finishing up WITH my hands since it's too stiff for me to finish up stirring. I refrigerate in 4 disks wrapped in plastic wrap. After that, I dust the dough with flour on each side, roll a bit, dust again and repeat if needed. No sticky problems! I found that 9 minutes was just right in my oven. For best flavor and texture, you'll need to put the cookies in a sealed container with a slice of apple or orange for a month or so, changing the fruit every few days. They'll become soft and chewy, with a marvelously complex, spicy fruity flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Having moved away from home (and away from German cookie bakers), I decided to try making these for the first time, and I'm happy to report, that this recipe was great! The only thing that I changed was that I used a bit more citron and nuts than was called for, and I used chopped pecans. Before baking, I pressed a pecan half into the center of each cookie. Also, I used a lemon glaze - something that I think is necessary. To make, juice one lemon and add enough powdered sugar to make somewhat thick. Spread on when cookies are still hot from oven. In terms of stickiness, this dough is quite sticky, but it is definitely manageable. Make sure you chill it overnight, and do not add a lot of flour into the dough as you roll. Before placing the cookies on the sheets, I blew off any and all flour I could. The cookies turned out great; I have the last sheet in the oven now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My mother made Lebkuchen every Christmas and gave it as gifts. I am doing the same...this recipe tastes just like hers. Thank you. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I thought this recipe was very nice. Thanks for submitting it. My grandmother also made these cookies every year and although hers were a little different I thought these were very comparable. I added a little more flour and they were easy to roll out. Just going to glaze them now with a lemon glaze and then paint them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northernmaiden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved making this recipe, i thought it tasted just like real german lebkuchen, which i love! Only downside is that the sugar topping didn't work out from me. However, this didn't detract from the finished product which was still great. When rolling out the dough i would recommend not putting too much flour on your surface but just rubbing in a little bit to the top and bottom (after every couple of rolls out) this kept the dough nice and not too floury but also helped it roll out very easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States