Lebkuchen I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Dense, spicy, not too sweet, excellent with black coffee. The spiciness mellowed nicely after two weeks. I didn't have enough honey so I substituted molasses, and it worked fine. I didn't like the store-bought dried peel that I used, so next time I'm going to experiment with other options. A really nice recipe, and I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskabaker
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I love this. Most recipes make drop cookies, which is a modern update, but not what I was looking for. As for commenters who have used sesame oil, there are TWO types of sesame oil available. One is roasted and is used in Asian cooking, especially Chinese and Korean cuisine. The roasted oil is dark brown in color. The other is a clear cooking oil used widely in South Asia because it doesn't have as distinct a flavor as mustard oil, coconut oil and isn't as unhealthy or expensive as ghee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is very good, I made this Sat. and I didn't have light seseme oil, I used toasted seseme,it was alittle heavy covering taste of spices, its still turned out good but definately use LIGHT oil in this, also, there is a break in the flour mix with the oil, and then add spices, best thing to do is mix your spices in with the flour mixture, make sure your dry ingredients are all mixed evenly together then add the wet. But its very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My boyfriend is from Germany and said this was the best cookie he has had in USA..great ,easy recipe, make sure to use fresh spices, for great flavor..I like to do foreign cookies for Christmas to make different gifts..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Very authentic, and easy to use. I have been looking for a practical Lebkuchen recipe for years, but never found one that properly converted the measurements, ingredients and temperatures for English/American use. I used this recipe this year for Christmas, with much success. The Lebkuchen produced by this recipe can also be used to make a Lebkuchen house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Baron
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
These turned out really good but not as good as what my dad made. Being a little homesick they did hit the spot. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
An excellent recipe. The dough, however,turned out a bit dry and crumbly(almost like streusel topping). By adding 1/4 cup of orange juice the mix held together resulting in a fine product. Added sugar glaze to the 24 pieces, stored in 2 layers each in 2 tin cans. Kuchen looks "yummy". Can hardly await the sampling in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a very tasty recipe I may have actually used more spices..... I've never made a "quick bread" without eggs so I got nervous and added one..... it came out fine..... The recipe may look odd but it turns out nice. I think the general idea of this cake especially without the egg.... is for a honey spicey cakey brownie..... chewy and dense like a brownie...... very yummy..... I iced mine with a simple sugar (confectioners sugar) icing... although its sweet enought without it. I also ommitted the candied fruit and added rasisins and almonds..... I also think this cake would be nice with nothing (rasins almond etc.) Don't put too much icing (if you use icing) it will be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
The recipe did really well until I added the sesame oil...the sesame overwhelmed the entire mixture. I am wondering if I used the correct type of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I have been a student of German for 10 years now. This is the best recipe I have found for Lebkuchen in these ten years. My college professor commented that they taste authintic (he's German) and I also won my boyfriend's heart (or should I say stomach) over with these. My daughter also loved helping me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States