Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This soup is delicious. I did alter it a little. If you saute onions, garlic, celery and carrots and add them at the end, it makes it that much better. Then I let it simmer a while longer until the vegetables were soft. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have been looking for a traditional middle-eastern lentil soup for ages, and this one is PERFECT! I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth to make the recipe vegetarian. 2 cups of red lentils worked well for me with 6 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
delicious tasting soup. Great recipe, no altering needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Great! Had to do a bit of a different spice combo due to what I had in the house, but I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Even after making this a no-fuss soup, it is still very good. I had to add about 3 cups water to keep it from drying out. I also used beef broth since I didn't have chicken. It still tastes very good, but chicken would be better. I also used dehydrated onion, minced garlic from the store, dehydrated cilantro and lemon juice. These all worked well and I didn't have to wait until I could get to the store! I also messed up and put the cilantro in with the other ingredients. If this soup can still be this good, imagine what it would be like if I made it right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Excellent! love the complex flavors. I also like it without the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This soup was amazing! I couldn't stop eating, and I'm craving it now that it's gone. Next time, I think I'll add less lemon juice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Yum! Loved it! Spicy and filling. I didn't add the cumin, since I don't care for the taste of it--added a little turmeric instead. Will be making this again! EDIT-So I made this again today and this time I broke down and added cumin (1/4 tsp)--made it taste even more excellent! I LOVE this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I am used to making green lentil soup,so it was nice to find this recipe.It is tasty and I did not have to modify except for the addition of carrot.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walks_softly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States