Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This soup is delicious. My only comment is while it's fine to garnish it with lemon wedges, I would not squeeze those lemon wedges into the soup, as it is overkill. We added all the cumin and extra cayenne because we love spicy food. We're going to be eating this a lot. Thank you JENP1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very good! I did not puree but let it cook a little bit longer and the lentils were mushy enough. I also did not add all the lemon juice based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Perfect! I replaced the cayenne with fresh ground black pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy and added 3/4 teaspoon salt, but otherwise I kept everything else the same. It was thick but not too thick and had delicious flavor. The cilantro and lemon juice really add the perfect final touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Since this was last reviewed in '08 I thought I would just add a note that this recipe still holds up in 2011. I had only a handful of red lentils, so I made a very small batch and estimated the seasonings. Delicious. I didn't get the color shown in the picture but the flavor was terrific. So quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
great recipe on its own but also open for modification. I made with diced carrots with red onions (will try white onions next time for softer flavour), scallions towards the end and extra cracked pepper! so delicious and soothing on a cold day! EDIT: I tried green lentils yesterday but had trouble getting them to the pulpy/melting consistency of the red lentils. Stirred in some canned corn, ground coriander and fresh coriander to garnish. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love it. We boost the spices a bit as we like a little more heat, but a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Silverman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow - surprisingly good -- like split pea but lighter and no need for the ham fat. I didn't follow the recipe exactly -- I cooked the lentils in chicken broth -- I think a 30 minute simmer is too long -- then sauteed onion, carrot & celery in plenty of olive oil. Added the cumin (twice as much), some salt & pepper to the mix, then lastly added the garlic to saute. Threw all of that in the lentils and added lemon juice from a jar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I didn't puree, just kept it simmering for a while. Also added carrot and 2 stalks of celery. I loved it. Husband said it was good. 2 year old did not like. Too sandy tasting for her, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I added sweet potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms. The spices were perfect and with the additions I made, the texture was wonderfully "stick to your ribs!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Nakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So tasty! I didn't have cilantro, so used about 1 tsp of coriander, and only added a couple tablespoons of lemon juice, as my husband doesn't like lemon flavored things. This is a really easy and delicious recipe. For those who have made this with green lentils, really try to find red ones... they cook quickly and become so creamy. Definitely a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States