Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Had wanted to replicate a Lebanese Lentil soup from a nearby restaurant. This is even better! I didn't use the cayenne, used vegetable stock instead of chicken (as we're vegetarians) and used parsley instead of cilantro. DELISH! The lemon juice and cumin MAKE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
yum-my! I add spinach (frozen package) too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This has been a favorite in our family for some time - we dont use cilantro we use middle eastern mixed spices, garlic, pepper and lemon. for added flavor you can add some carrots and potatoes to the soup and blend right along with the lentils. Everyone from Grandma - right down to my kids love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the reviews are a little overrated, since I felt the lemon was quite overpowering. The soup is very different before and after the lemon is added. One should add it gradually, to taste, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I cooked up the onion and some red peppers in some olive oil and once everything was cooked I pureed it all. Next time I'll add more stock as it came out too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious! I only added a tiny bit of salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I used less cumin and cinnamon than called for. This soup is a 5 star soup. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVBH62
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
SOMETHING WASN'T QUITE RIGHT.... WONT MAKE IT AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
we used Green/Brown lentils from the pantry, which seemed to hold their shape more and gave the soup a more chewy texture. It was more like a dhaal than a soup, but either way, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Flavor was not all I hoped it would be. I added a lot more of each spice, and it still did not taste like the lentil soup I ate in the middle east.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States