Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good and easy! Followed recipe almost exactly, just subbed fresh parsley for the cilantro. I added lemon juice. I actually tried a taste w no lemon juice, then one with the fake lemon juice (didn't do a thing), then the fresh lemon. Definitely use fresh lemon! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
very good but excellent for our taste preference with few changes others mentioned. First we added sauted onion, celery, carrot and quartered grape tomatoes at the end and stirred them in to maintain some crunchy texture. We also added 1 1/2-2 x cumin and extra hot Hungarian paprika, again our pref for spicy things. Per others rec to 1/2 the fresh lemon juice and add to taste worked for us and we stopped at 1/4-1/3c. Thanks for great recipe as with all recipes, they have to be tweaked to everyone's own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
So delicious! I loved the lemon flavor and I think this will be in my regular winter rotation. I added some small star pasta that I had on hand to make it a little more of a complete meal. I think next time I might add some chopped celery and carrot too. I decided not to blend it just due to personal preference. I found that 2 1/2 lemons gave me the juice I needed. Also, 1 lb of lentils was about 2 1/2 C. I did have to add about a quart of water because it got pretty thick as the lentils boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I LOVED this soup. I added a couple teaspoons of turmeric and didn't bother puréeing, but otherwise followed the recipe almost exactly. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I loved it and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Delish! I used Split red lentils - so they cooked a little faster. Also, did everything right in the stock pot. Sauteed onion, garlic, 2 carrots and 2 celery stalks in olive oil. Then added stock (used 2 boxes = 8 cups) and then added rinsed lentils. cooked everything until tender. Then, did a quick whir with the immersion blender. Added less lemon juice. Fast, easy, inexpensive and healthy. A winner! PS: Could also be served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe is easy, delicious, filling and comforting - and so cheap to make! I halved the recipe because I live alone (there are plenty of leftovers for the week). Since I didn't have cayenne on hand, I used black pepper, plus a little ground red pepper for kick. I will definitely be making this again! It's hard not to over eat it :) I think this would be great with carrots, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was good and spicy. I added 1 cup of chopped celery and 1 cup of chopped carrots and sauteed them with the onions in 3 Tbl. of butter instead of olive oil. I added the garlic when the onions were translucent. I was nervous about adding the full amount of lemon because others had said it was too strong. So I only did 1/3 cup of lemon. I couldn't taste the lemon at all so I will do 3/4 cup next time. I'm glad I added the celery and carrot. I think the soup would have been a little boring otherwise. It was pretty spicy for my kids, but they still enjoyed it. I did add a little sour cream to tone it down a bit and that tasted good as well. We aren't cilantro fans so we didn't add any. I will definitely make it again, but I will probably add a little less liquid next time. I think I'd like it better more as a chili and less of a soup. It was pretty thick as written, but I'd like it even a little more so. Yum! good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I added a bit of turmeric and included some extra vegetables I had around. Turned out great, would have been good without the additions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Crum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is very similar to my the soup at my favourite Lebanese restaurant. It's just so comforting. I followed the directions exactly and was very pleased. I want to make some fattoush with this... what an authentically yummy lunch that would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States