Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I debated between 3 stars and 4 stars because as is, it overwhelmed my taste buds a bit. Ultimately I chose 4 because I think I can easily make it into a truly enjoyable recipe. I made the recipe pretty much as stated, except the store here only carries the standard brown lentils. I also followed the advice of increasing the cumin, used 1 1/2 tbsp rather than 1. When I ate it, all I could really taste was the lemon. I could tell there were other flavors there, but the lemon was very over-powering (and I do like lemon). It's a very strongly flavored soup and needs something to cut it. One reviewer suggested serving it with a long grain rice (e.g. basmati), and I think I will try that tomorrow night. In future, I may do 2 tbsp of cumin and will definitely add only 1/2 cup of lemon juice and taste it before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My Lebanese family makes this as well, only, vegetarian style. No chicken broth. I do saute garlic, onions, celery and carrots. And the key ingredient for us is swiss chard and potato diced added at the near end. The last ingredients to add are cilantro and lemon juice. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I liked this a lot. I'm not sure if I made the recipe exactly, because I made a smaller portion, and didn't carefully measure everything, but it came out great regardless! The only things I know I changed are that I didn't use cayenne pepper, I just used a little bit of black pepper, and I omitted the cilantro because I hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yummy, healthy soup. Took others suggestions and sauteed and puree the onion, garlic, celery and carrot before added to the cooked lentils. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My husband is Egyptian and a total foodie. He said this soup is better than any soup he's ever had. He prefers it not pureed, but I like the smoothe texture better, so I just puree my serving with my imersion blender. Thanks for sharing such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is now one of my favourites, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This soup is great! It has a wonderful flavor and texture. I used vegetable stock and a lot less lemon juice (around 1/4 cup.) I decided not to blend it because I liked the texture the way it was when I took it off the stove. I'm sure it tastes just as good blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Thank you, Thank you!!! I lived in the middle east for a little while and there was this Lebanese resturant that we used to go to and this taste exactly like their lentil soup. I have been searching for this seems like forever. I am in heaven. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
i really liked this. the lemon was wonderful. as others recommended i added celery and carrots, doubled the spices, subbed coriander for cilantro (didnt have any), and added 2 more cups of broth. these small changes resulted in a very flavorful soup. i may try this in a crock pot next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Excellent soup! tastes just like the one my mom makes(she is egyptian). I did double the cumin and garlic and used vegetable broth (for lent). I also used the lemon pepper instead of the cayenne(making for 2 kids under 5). It did need some salt and ground fresh black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States